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The Division of Water and Waste Management (DWWM) regulates the discharge of pollutants into waters 
of the State.

1
  This is accomplished primarily through permit programs to limit surface water pollution 

discharged by municipal and industrial facilities, construction sites and non-regulatory control of improper 
land uses.  DWWM also manages programs that protect groundwater, wetlands, and non-coal dams.

2
 

  
The DWWM is also responsible for many Anon-permitting@ programs such as West Virginia=s State 
Revolving Loan Fund program for wastewater treatment systems, West Virginia=s total maximum daily 
load, or ATMDL@, program, and the statewide watershed assessment program.  The DWWM receives 
much of its funding through the Federal Clean Water Act and manages many federally initiated programs, 
including the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) and Underground Injection 
Control System (UIC) programs.  

1 See Page DWWM-2  
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Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permits-Overview  
  
DWWM=s primary permitting program is the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System or NPDES 
program.  The NPDES program is a federally delegated program pursuant to the Clean Water Act.  
NPDES permits in West Virginia are issued under the authority of the DWWM, although the Division of 
Mining and Reclamation (DMR) and the Office of Oil and Gas (OOG) are also involved in NPDES permits 
involving mining and oil and gas development.  DWWM issues both individual and general NPDES 
permits.  Sewage sludge permits are water pollution control permits but not NPDES permits.  Individual 
permits will be required for most industrial, commercial or industrial landfill, and wastewater treatment 
activities.  DWWM currently administers ten general permits for certain classes of activities.  The general 
permitting process is designed to be much faster and less expensive than the individual permitting 
process.  
  
  
Individual NPDES Permits  
  
The processing time for individual permit applications is 180 calendar days.  This period includes 15 
calendar days for technical review, during which time the agency conducts its geological (when 
necessary) and engineering reviews and develops the draft permit.  If changes are required in the 
application the 90 calendar days resets and does not start again until the agency receives information 
requested.  The 180 days also includes a 90 calendar day public participation/permit decision period, 
during which time the agency solicits public comments, holds a public hearing in some cases, responds to 
comments received, and approves or denies the permit.  
  
  
Individual Water Pollution Control Permit  
  
Purpose:  
To ensure technology based waste treatment requirements are in place and the state=s water quality 
standards are protected (applicable to industrial waste, sewage treatment and disposal systems greater 
than 50,000 gallons per day).  
  
Fees:   
Application, annual and groundwater protection fees are within the following ranges:    
Application Fees range from $85 to $5,000 for an existing facility, and from $340 to $15,000 for a new 
facility.    
Annual Fees range from $50 to $5,000.    
Annual Groundwater Protection Fees range from $25 to $500.  
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Public Participation:  
 
The agency places a public notice (Class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment 
period in a local newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.    
  
Who Must Apply:  
 
Anyone acquiring, constructing, installing, modifying or operating a facility discharging treated or 
untreated sewage, industrial waste, other wastes or effluent from these wastes into state waters.  
                                                                

1
The Division is guided by and implements the following laws and rules:  the federal Safe Drinking 

Water Act and Clean Water Act; Chapter 22, Articles, 1, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 of the West Virginia Code; 
Chapter 22C, Articles 2, 11, and 12 of the West Virginia Code; Rules 46 CSR Series 1 and 12; 47 CSR 
Series 9, 10, 11, 11A, 13, 26, 32, 34, and 55-60; 33 CSR 1 and 2; and 60 CSR 5.  
  
 

2
For permit requirements for coal mining activities, see the Division of Mining & Reclamation 

(DMR) chapter of this handbook.  NPDES permits and 401 certifications for coal mining activities are 
reviewed by the DMR and submitted for final approval by the Director of the DWWM.  
  
Other:  
The applicant must receive a permit from the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources 
if proposing a sewage facility that is not federally funded.  
  
  
Industrial Solid Waste Landfill Permit  
  
Purpose:  
To ensure proper management and disposal of industrial solid waste at industrial landfills.  
  
Who Must Apply:  
Any industry disposing of or proposing to dispose of non-hazardous industrial waste at an industrial 
landfill.  
  
Fees:   
The initial application fee is $5,000 with a renewal fee is $1,000.  The annual fee is $5,000 and the annual 
groundwater protection fee is $300.  
  
Public Participation:  
The agency places a public notice (Class II legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day comment period 
in a local newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.  
  
  
Industrial Users of Sewage Treatment Facilities, Permit Modification  
  
Purpose:  
To control contributions of industrial water waste to sewage treatment facilities (publicly owned treatment 
works) and ensure compliance with national pretreatment standards and discharge requirements.  
  
Who Must Apply:  
Any sewage treatment facility (publicly owned treatment works) not operating an approved pretreatment 
program and seeking to accept a new contribution of industrial wastewater.  
  
Note: Industry seeking acceptance of wastewater at a sewage treatment facility with an approved 
pretreatment program must submit an application to the sewage treatment facility.  
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Fees: Permit modification application fees are from $50 to $2,000.  Sewage treatment facility application 
fees:  
Approved pretreatment program - Fees for industrial users vary and are outlined in the local sewer use 
ordinances.    
Non-approved pretreatment program - Service fees may be charged by the sewage treatment facility.  
  
Public participation:  
Sewage treatment facilities with approved pretreatment programs:  Public notice requirements are subject 
to the requirements of individual facilities.    
Sewage treatment facilities without approved pretreatment programs:  Agency places a public notice 
(Class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local newspaper.  The 
applicant must pay costs.  A public hearing is conditional, based on the level of public interest on issues 
relevant to the draft permit modification.  
  
  

General NPDES Permits  
  
The DWWM usually reviews and acts on applications for registration under a general permit within 30 - 45 
calendar days where public notification is not required.  The average processing time for some general 
permits may be longer or shorter (as noted in the summaries for each general permit below).  Applying for 
coverage under a general permit usually requires public notification.  When public notice is required the 
application processing time will increase by 45 - 60 calendar days.  
  
General permits are typically issued for a 5-year term.  Coverage under the general permit is valid up to 
five years, depending on the date of registration and the permit=s expiration date.  The agency solicits 
public comments on a general permit once every five years (upon issuance or re-issuance) by placing a 
public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 30 calendar day public comment period in newspapers.  
A public hearing may be held based on the level of public interest in issues relevant to the draft permit.  
  
The following general permits are currently issued and available for qualified registrants:  

 Stormwater Associated with Construction Activity Permit.  
 Small Sewage Facility Permit (maximum of 50,000 gallons per day).  
 Disposal of Sewage from Small Sewage Treatment Systems Serving Individual Residents.  
 Remediation of Petroleum Contaminated Sites Permit.  
 Hydrostatic Water Testing from a Newly Constructed Pipeline Permit.  
 Car Wash Permit.  
 Stormwater Associated with Industrial Activity Permit (except for construction and mining activities).  
 Disposal of Sewage Sludge and/or Domestic Sewage at Publicly Owned Treatment Works Permit.  
 Land Application of Sewage Sludge and/or Domestic Sewage Permit.  
 Water Treatment Plant.  
 Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4).  

 
  
A summary of general permits is set forth below, including fee requirements, public notice requirements, 
and other approvals that may be needed before a permit can be issued.  
  
  
 
Stormwater Associated With Construction Activity Permit  
  
Purpose:  
To provide expedited permit coverage and ensure proper management of stormwater discharged from 
construction activities.  
  
Who Must Apply:  
Anyone discharging stormwater from construction activities involving three or more acres and which 
discharge only storm water.  
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Fees:   
Application Fees range from $700 to $1,750.    
Annual Fees (for projects lasting more than one year) range from $100 to $1,750.    
Annual Groundwater Protection Fee (for projects lasting more than one year) is $50.  
  
Notable Requirements:  
Applicants for coverage under this general permit must submit a complete registration application 30 days 
before beginning construction.  In addition, the applicant must prepare a stormwater pollution prevention 
plan; incorporating a best management practices plan, and a groundwater protection plan.  Coverage 
under this general permit is valid until the site is satisfactorily stabilized and a notice of termination is 
submitted to the DWWM.  Thereafter, the agency will conduct a final inspection.  
  
Other Approvals:  
The applicant must receive a dredge and fill permit from the US Army Corps of Engineers when 
applicable, and must receive right-of-entry approval from the Public Lands Corporation of the West 
Virginia Division of Natural Resources to work in a stream.  Applicants must also be in compliance with 
appropriate local ordinances.  
  
  
Small Sewage Facility Permit (Maximum of 50,000 Gallons Per Day)  
  
Purpose:  
To provide expedited permit coverage for small sewage facilities.  
  
Who Must Apply:  
Anyone who operates a small sewage facility and accepts the conditions of the existing general permit.  
Operators who don=t accept the conditions must apply for an individual NPDES permit.  
  
Fees:   
Application Fees range from $77 to $230 for an existing facility and range from $306 to $765 for a new 
facility.    
Annual fees range from $50 to $100 with an annual groundwater protection fee of $10.  
  
Notable Requirements:  
Applicants applying for coverage under this general permit for the first time must place a public notice 
(Class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local newspaper.  The 
applicant must pay the advertising cost.  A public hearing may be held based on the level of public 
interest on issues relevant to the draft permit.  
  
Other Approvals:  
The applicant must receive a permit from the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources 
for proposed small sewage facilities.  
  
  
Disposal of Sewage from Small Sewage Treatment Systems Serving 
Individual Residents (maximum of 600 gallons per day)  
  
Purpose:  To provide expedited permit coverage for individual residential sewage treatment facilities 
which will directly discharge treated wastewater into state waters.   
  
Who Must Apply:  Anyone constructing and operating a new individual sewage treatment facility.  
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Fees: Application Fee is $150 to replace a failing septic tank and $306 for a new facility.  Annual 
groundwater protection Fee is $10.    
  
Notable Requirements:  This permit is only for residential sewage treatment facilities.  Applicants must 
obtain a Awaste load allocation@ from the Permits section of DWWM prior to submitting their registration 
application.  
  
Application Processing Time:  Technical review and permit decisions require approximately 14 
calendar days.  
  
 
Other Approvals:  Applicants must receive a permit from the West Virginia Department of Health and 
Human Resources.  
  
  

Remediation of Petroleum Contaminated Sites Permit  
  
Purpose:  To provide expedited permit coverage for remediation of sites involving petroleum 
contaminated groundwater and/or surface water.  
  
Who Must Apply:  Anyone remediating petroleum contaminated groundwater and/or surface water.  
Note:  Operators who cannot or do not accept the general permit conditions must apply for an individual 
NPDES permit.  
   
Fees: Application Fees range from $720 to $2,700.  Annual Fees (for projects lasting more than one 
year) range from $100 to $5,000.  Annual Groundwater Protection Fee (for projects lasting more than one 
year) is $50.  
  
  

Hydrostatic Water Testing From a Newly Constructed Pipeline Permit  
  
Purpose  
To provide expedited permit coverage for hydrostatic water testing of a newly constructed pipeline (a one-
time discharge).  
  
Who Must Apply  
Anyone discharging waste associated with hydrostatic water testing for newly constructed pipelines and 
who accepts the conditions of the existing general permit.  
  
Related Laws/Rules  
Laws  
Water Pollution Control Act - W.Va. Code, Chapter 22, Article 11  
Groundwater Protection Act - W.Va. Code, Chapter 22, Article 12  
Rules  
46 CSR Series 1, 12  
47 CSR Series 10, 11, 26, 55, 58  
  
Length of Permit  
Coverage under the general permit is valid up to five years, depending on the permit=s expiration date.  
  
Fees  
Application fees range from $300 to $1,350.  
  
Typical requirements of Owner/Operators  

 Submit a complete site registration application that describes the anticipated effluent discharge 
quality and includes a sediment control plan.  

 Submit regular reports about the effluent discharge quality.  
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Public Participation  
The agency solicits public comments on this permit every five years by placing a public notice (class I 
legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in newspapers in counties where 
these activities are known or expected to occur.  A public hearing is conditional, based on the level of 
public interest in issues relevant to the draft permit.  
  
Because these discharges generally last only one day, applying for coverage under the general permit 
does not require public notification.  
  
Contact   
(304) 926-0495  
  
Application Processing Time  
Technical review and the permit decision require approximately 15 calendar days.  
  
  
Storm water Associated With Industrial Activity Permit (except for 
construction and mining activities)  
  
 
Purpose:  To provide expedited permit coverage for stormwater discharges associated with industrial 
activity in situations for which the U.S. EPA has not developed guidelines.  
  
Who Must Apply:  Anyone discharging stormwater from an industrial activity.  Note:  Operators who 
cannot or do not accept the conditions of this general permit must apply for an individual NPDES permit.  
  
Fees: Application Fees range from $120 to $580 for existing facilities and from $470 to $1,750 for new 
facilities.  Annual fees range from $100 to $1,500.  Annual Groundwater Protection Fee is $50.  
  
Public Participation:  Applicants applying for coverage under the general permit for the first time must 
place a public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local 
newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.  A public hearing may be held based on the 
level of public interest in issues relevant to the draft permit.   
  
   
Disposal of Sewage Sludge and/or Domestic Sewage at Publicly 
Owned Treatment Works Permit  
  
Purpose:  To establish an efficient, environmentally safe procedure for the disposal of sewage sludge 
and/or domestic sewage from a publicly owned treatment works facility.  
  
Who Must Apply:  Anyone hauling sewage sludge and/or domestic sewage who accepts the conditions 
of the existing general permit.  Operators who don=t accept the conditions must apply for an individual 
permit.  
  
Fees: Application Fees are based on the number of gallons of sludge or sewage disposed of each year: 
$150 for under a million gallons, $250 for a million gallons or more, and $50 to change the disposal 
option.  Annual Groundwater Protection Fee is $50.  
  
Public Participation:  Haulers applying for coverage under the general permit for the first time must 
place a public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local 
newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.  A public hearing is conditional, based on the 
level of public interest on issues relevant to the draft permit.  
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Other Approvals:  The applicant must hold a valid septic tank cleaning permit from the county health 
department and must receive an approval letter for disposal from the sewage treatment facility.  
  
  
Land Application of Sewage Sludge and/or Domestic Sewage Permit  
  
Purpose:  To establish an efficient, environmentally safe procedure for land application of sewage sludge 
and/or domestic sewage.  
  
Who Must Apply:  Any hauler applying sewage sludge and/or domestic sewage to land who accepts the 
conditions of the existing general permit.  Operators who don=t accept the conditions must apply for an 
individual NPDES permit.  
  
Fees: Application and Annual Fees are based on the amount of sludge or sewage disposed each year.  
Application Fees are $250 for under a million gallons, $400 for a million gallons or more, and $50 to 
register new land application sites and/or change the number of gallons after a permit is issued.  Annual 
Fees are $75 for every 100,000 gallons land applied, and $5 for each ton of dewatered sludge or sewage 
multiplied by the percent of solids.  
  
Public Participation:  Applicants applying for coverage under the general permit for the first time must 
place a public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local 
newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.   A public hearing is conditional, based on the 
level of public interest on issues relevant to the draft permit.  
  
 
Other Approvals:  Applicants must hold a valid septic tank cleaning permit from the county health 
department and must receive an approval letter for land application from the sewage treatment facility.  
  
  
Water Treatment Plant Permit  
  
Purpose:  To provide expedited permit coverage for wastewater discharges from water treatment plants.  
  
Who Must Apply:  Any entity operating a water treatment plant who accepts the conditions of the existing 
general permit.  Operators who do not accept the conditions must apply for an individual NPDES permit.  
  
Fees: Application Fees range from $180 to $900 for existing facilities, and from $750 to $2,700 for new 
facilities.  Annual Fees range from $100 to $5,000.  Annual Groundwater Protection Fee is $50.  
  
Public Participation:  Applicants applying for coverage under the general permit for the first time will be 
subject to a public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a 
local newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.  A public hearing may be held based on 
the level of public interest in issues relevant to the draft permit.  
  
 Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems 
 
Purpose: To provide expedited permit coverage for operator of small municipal separate storm sewer 
systems. 
 
Who Must Apply: Jurisdictions including, but not limited to; municipalities, counties, transportation 
facilities, Federal and State owned prison systems, and universities that are located within the boundaries 
of a Bureau of the Census defined “Urbanized Area” based on the latest decennial census. Municipalities 
that are designated by DWWM under 40CFR122.32(a)(2). Designation criteria are included in Appendix D 
of this general permit. 
 
Fees: $17.50 per acre of area served by the MS4. Maximum fee is $1750.00. 
Public Participation:  The approved Stormwater Management Program is subject to a public notice 
(class I legal advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local newspaper.  The 
applicant must pay the advertising cost.  A public hearing may be held based on the level of public 
interest in issues relevant to the draft permit. 
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Notable Requirements: Within 30 days of the effective date of the general permit, all operators 
shall submit a Notice of Intent. By January 22, 2011 all operators must submit on a site 
registration application their stormwater management program. 
 
 
Other DWWM Permits and Certifications  
  
In addition to its NPDES permitting program, the DWWM issues permits or certifications under its 
Underground Injection Control (classes I and V) or AUIC@ program, the Safe Dams program pursuant to 
the state Dam Safety Act, and a certification program for federally issued permits or licenses pursuant to 
Section 401 of the federal Clean Water Act.  
   
The UIC program is a federally delegated program pursuant to the Safe Drinking Water Act that allows 
the DWWM to issue permits for underground injection of pollutants into class I or class V wells

3
 to assure 

protection of groundwater.  
 
West Virginia=s Dam Safety Act requires that dams unrelated to coal mining activities be designed, 
constructed, operated and removed in compliance with state laws and rules designed to protect the public 
health and safety.  Anyone constructing, repairing, modifying, enlarging, reducing, removing, breaching or 
abandoning a dam unrelated to coal mining activities must obtain a certificate of approval from DWWM.  
  
Section 401 of the Clean Water Act states that any permit, certificate or license issued by a federal 
authority, such as the United States Army Corps of Engineers of the Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission, must receive certification from the State where the activity will take place.  This A401 
certification@ certifies that the proposed, federally approved activity is consistent with the State=s water 
quality standards.  
  
  
Underground Injection Control (UIC) Permits (Class I and V)  
  
UIC permits are issued to ensure injection of fluids into the ground for treatment is done in compliance 
with the Safe Drinking Water Act and is protective of the groundwater.  Anyone proposing to inject fluids 
into the subsurface, including fluids from a domestic waste system that has the capacity to serve 20 or 
more people, must apply for a UIC permit.  
  
Fees: Application Fees range from $25 to $1,500.  Annual Fees (for projects lasting more than one year) 
range from $25 to $500.  Annual groundwater protection fees (only projects lasting more than one year) 
are $200 for class I permits and $15 for class V permits.  
  
Public Participation:  
The agency places a public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 30 calendar day public comment 
period in a local newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost. A public hearing may be held 
based on the level of public interest in issues relevant to the draft permit.  
  
The average processing time, including technical review, public participation (without a public hearing) 
and the permit decision, is 45 to 60 calendar days.  If a public hearing is held, it will add approximately 60 
calendar days to the application processing time.  Additional time may be required if the application is not 
complete or based on the complexity of the application.  
  
The applicant must receive a construction permit from the county health department if the method of 
injection is a subsurface distribution system such as a drain field to a septic system.  
 
Certificate of Approval for Construction of Dams Not Related to Coal Operations  
 
 A certificate of approval is required to ensure that a dam, unrelated to coal mining activities is designed, 
constructed, operated and removed in compliance with state laws and rules protecting public health and 
safety.  A person constructing, repairing, modifying, enlarging, reducing, removing, breaching or 
abandoning a dam, unrelated to coal mining activities, must obtain a certificate of approval.  
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Application fees for certificates of approval will be no greater than $300 for proposed dams, and no 
greater than $100 for dam removals.  The annual fee will be no greater than $100.  Applications must be 
certified by a licensed professional engineer and must describe the dam in detail, including hydrology, 
hydraulics, stability and filter design.  Applicants must notify the Division of Natural Resources= nongame 
wildlife program and the Division of Culture and History about the proposal.  After construction, reports 
must be submitted each year for three years.  Thereafter, annual reports must be submitted according to 
the dam=s hazard classification (class I, at least every two years; class II, at least every three years; class 
III, at least every five years; class IV, at least every seven years).  In addition, the owner must maintain a 
monitoring and emergency action plan and a maintenance plan.  
 
Public Participation:  DWWM places a public notice (class I legal advertisement) with a 15 calendar day 
public comment period in a local newspaper.  The applicant must pay the advertising cost.  If someone 
requests a hearing during the comment period, the agency will hold a hearing within 10 calendar days of 
request.  
  
Currently, the agency requires approximately 180 calendar days to complete a technical 
review and perform public participation requirements to issue or deny a certificate of 
approval.  
  
   
Section 401 Certification  
  
For Federally Approved ADredge or Fill@ and 
Hydroelectric Power Activities  
  
Section 401 of the Clean Water Act states that any permit, certificate or license issued 
by a federal authority, such as the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACOE) or the 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), must receive certification from the 
state where the activity will take place.  This A401 certification@ certifies that the 
proposed, federally approved activity is consistent with the State=s water quality 
standards.  
  
Who Must Apply:  Anyone applying for a USACOE Section 404 permit to discharge 
dredged or fill materials into State waters or a license from FERC for hydroelectric 
generating facilities.  
  
For Federal 404 permits, the US Army Corps of Engineers places a public notice that 
describes the proposed activity, notifies the DWWM of its decision on state certification, 
and notifies the general public of its right to submit comments and request a public 
hearing.  The agency requires approximately 60 calendar days to complete its technical 
review and public participation requirements (depending on the completeness and 
complexity of the application).  A 401 Certification is valid for the life of a project or for 
10 years.  It will include any special or general conditions.  
  
For licenses under FERC, the applicant must place a public notice (class II legal 
advertisement) with a 30-calendar day public comment period in a local newspaper.  
The applicant must pay the advertising cost.  A public hearing may be held based on the 
level of public interest in issues relevant to the draft permit.  The agency may require up 
to one year to complete technical review and public participation requirements 
(depending on the completeness and complexity of the application) for 401 certification 
of a FERC project.  Once certified, the certification is valid for up to 50 years.  
  
Other Approvals:  A 401 certification only certifies an activity to be permitted by a federal authority.  
Accordingly, the applicant must obtain a Section 404 permit from the USACOE.  The applicant must also 
file a public land corporation stream activity application with the Real Estate Office of the West Virginia 
Division of Natural Resources. 
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