
 

 

 
 

Harold D. Ward 
Cabinet Secretary 

 
 
 

For Minor Modification Permitting Action Under 45CSR30 and 
Title V of the Clean Air Act 

             
Permit Action Number: MM01    SIC: 4922   
Name of Permittee:  Columbia Gas Transmission, LLC 
Facility Name/Location:   Lost River Compressor Station 
County:   Hardy County 
Permittee Mailing Address: 1700 MacCorkle Ave. SE, 5th Floor, Charleston, WV 25314 
 
Description of Permit Revision: This minor modification incorporates the revisions made with the 

Class II Administrative Update R14-0013F.  The revisions include 
the installation and operation of a 1.172 mmBTU/hr fuel gas 
heater as well as other administrative changes.  

 
 
Title V Permit Information: 
 Permit Number:   R30-03100002-2023 
 Issued Date:  August 08, 2023 
Effective Date:   August 22, 2023 
 Expiration Date:   August 08, 2028 
 
Directions To Facility:  Traveling on I-81 (in VA), take Exit 257 to US Route 11.  Take a left on 

US Route 11 towards State Route 259.  For approximately 23 miles, travel 
north on State Route 259 to Mathias, WV.  Turn right onto Upper Cove 
Run Road and travel approximately 0.25 miles toward Basore, WV.  The 
entrance to the facility is on the left. 

 
  
     
THIS PERMIT REVISION IS ISSUED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE WEST VIRGINIA AIR POLLUTION 
CONTROL ACT (W.VA. CODE §§ 22-5-1 ET SEQ.) AND 45CSR30 - "REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATING 
PERMITS."  THE PERMITTEE IDENTIFIED AT THE FACILITY ABOVE IS AUTHORIZED TO OPERATE THE 
STATIONARY SOURCES OF AIR POLLUTANTS IDENTIFIED HEREIN IN ACCORDANCE WITH ALL 
TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS PERMIT.     
   
 
         

       
          
         February 21, 2024   
Laura M. Crowder      Date Issued 
Director, Division of Air Quality   
          

Digitally signed by: Laura M. Crowder
DN: CN = Laura M. Crowder email = Laura.M.
Crowder@wv.gov C = US O = WV Department of 
Environmental Protection OU = Division of AIr Quality
Date: 2024.02.21 14:18:24 -05'00'

Laura M. Crowder
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Permit Number:  R30-03100002-2023 

Permittee:   Columbia Gas Transmission, LLC 

Facility Name:  Lost River Compressor Station 

Permittee Mailing Address:  1700 MacCorkle Ave, SE, 5th Floor4th Floor, Charleston, WV 25314 

 

  
 

 

This permit is issued in accordance with the West Virginia Air Pollution Control Act (West Virginia Code §§ 22-5-1 et seq.) 

and 45CSR30 C Requirements for Operating Permits.  The permittee identified at the above-referenced facility is authorized 

to operate the stationary sources of air pollutants identified herein in accordance with all terms and conditions of this permit. 

 

  
 

 

 

 

Facility Location:  Upper Cove Run Road, Mathias, Hardy County, West Virginia  

Telephone Number:  (304) 548-1674  

Type of Business Entity:    LLC  

Facility Description:  Natural Gas Transmission Facility  

SIC Codes:  4922 

UTM Coordinates:  685.5 km Easting   •   4,305.1 km Northing   •   Zone 17 

 

       

Permit Writer: Natalya V. Chertkovsky-Veselova 

 

 

 

Any person whose interest may be affected, including, but not necessarily limited to, the applicant and any person who 

participated in the public comment process, by a permit issued, modified or denied by the Secretary may appeal such action 

of the Secretary to the Air Quality Board pursuant to article one [§§ 22B-1-1 et seq.], Chapter 22B of the Code of West 

Virginia.  West Virginia Code §22-5-14. 

 

 

  
 

 

Issuance of this Title V Operating Permit does not supersede or invalidate any existing permits under 45CSR13, 14 or 19, 

although all applicable requirements from such permits governing the facility's operation and compliance have been 

incorporated into the Title V Operating Permit. 
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1.0 Emission Units and Active R13, R14, and R19 Permits 

 

1.1. Emission Units 

 
Emission 

Unit ID 

Emission 

Point ID 

Emission Unit Description 

(Make, Model, Serial No.) 

Year 

Installed 

Design Capacity Control 

Device 

001-03 (1) BL2 Wastewater Evaporator Boiler 1997 0.20 MMBtu/hr N/A 

001-04 (1) HTR2 Fuel Gas Heater #2 2013 0.75 MMBtu/hr N/A 

001-05 (1) HTR3 Fuel Gas Heater #3 2013 0.25 MMBtu/hr N/A 

001-06(1) SH1 40 Catalytic Heaters 2013 

Each 0.072 

MMBtu/hr 

(Total 2.88 

mmBtu/hr) 

N/A 

002-07 (1) E07 
Reciprocating Engine / Compressor; Clark 

TLA-8; 2-cycle, lean burn  
1969 2,700 HP N/A 

002-08 (1) E08 
Reciprocating Engine / Compressor; Clark 

TLA-8; 2-cycle, lean burn 
1969 2,700 HP N/A 

002-09 (1) E09 
Reciprocating Engine / Compressor; Clark 

TLA-8; 2-cycle, lean burn  
1970 2,700 HP N/A 

002-10 (1) E10 
Reciprocating Engine / Compressor; Clark 

TLAD-10; 2-cycle lean burn  
1991 4,640 HP N/A 

002-12 (1) G3 
Reciprocating Engine / Emergency Generator; 

Waukesha VGF-48GL; 4-cycle, lean burn  
2008 1,063 HP N/A 

002-13 (1) E11 
Reciprocating Engine / Compressor; 

Caterpillar G3616; 4-cycle lean burn 
2008 4,735 HP 

OC1 

(OxCat) 

003-01(1) T01 Turbine #1, Solar Taurus 70  2013 

9,236 hp @ 59̊ F 

11,557 hp @ 0̊ F 

83.89 MMBtu/hr 

N/A 

003-02(1) T02 Turbine #2, Solar Taurus 70  2013 

 9,236 hp @ 59 ̊F 

11,557 hp @ 0̊ F 

83.89 MMBtu/hr 

N/A 

003-03(1) T03 Turbine #3, Solar Mars 100 2017 
15,067 hp @ 32 ̊F 

116.08 MMBtu/hr 
N/A 

003-04(1) T04 Turbine #4, Solar Mars 100 2017 
15,067 hp @ 32 ̊F 

116.08 MMBtu/hr 
N/A 

001-07(1) HTR4 Fuel Gas Heater #4 2017 0.50 MMBTU/hr N/A 

001-08(1) SH2 26 Catalytic Heaters 2017 1.34 MMBtu/hr(2) N/A 

001-09(1) SH3 22 Catalytic Heaters  2013 0.66 MMBtu/hr(2) N/A 
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Emission 

Unit ID 

Emission 

Point ID 

Emission Unit Description 

(Make, Model, Serial No.) 

Year 

Installed 

Design Capacity Control 

Device 

001-10(1) HTR5 Fuel Gas Heater #5 2023 1.172 MMBtu/hr N/A 

(1) All combustion equipment burns pipeline quality natural gas only. 

(2) Listed design capacity is aggregate for all heaters. 

        N/A – Not applicable 

 
1.2. Active R13, R14, and R19 Permits 

 

The underlying authority for any conditions from R13, R14, and/or R19 permits contained in this operating 

permit is cited using the original permit number (e.g. R13-1234).  The current applicable version of such 

permit(s) is listed below. 

 

Permit Number Date of Issuance 

R14-0013E May 11, 2016 

R14-0013F December 4, 2023 
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2.0 General Conditions 

 

2.1. Definitions 

 

2.1.1. All references to the "West Virginia Air Pollution Control Act" or the "Air Pollution Control Act" mean those 

provisions contained in W.Va. Code §§ 22-5-1 to 22-5-18. 

 

2.1.2. The "Clean Air Act" means those provisions contained in 42 U.S.C. §§ 7401 to 7671q, and regulations 

promulgated thereunder. 

 

2.1.3. "Secretary" means the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection or other person to whom the 

Secretary has delegated authority or duties pursuant to W.Va. Code §§ 22-1-6 or 22-1-8 (45CSR§30-2.39.).  

The Director of the Division of Air Quality is the Secretary's designated representative for the purposes of 

this permit. 

 

2.1.4. Unless otherwise specified in a permit condition or underlying rule or regulation, all references to a “rolling 

yearly total” shall mean the sum of the monthly data, values or parameters being measured, monitored, or 

recorded, at any given time for the previous twelve (12) consecutive calendar months. 

 

2.2. Acronyms 

 

CAAA Clean Air Act Amendments 

CBI Confidential Business Information 

CEM Continuous Emission Monitor 

CES Certified Emission Statement 

C.F.R. or CFR Code of Federal Regulations 

CO Carbon Monoxide 

C.S.R. or CSR Codes of State Rules 

DAQ Division of Air Quality 

DEP Department of Environmental 

Protection 

FOIA Freedom of Information Act 

HAP Hazardous Air Pollutant 

HON Hazardous Organic NESHAP 

HP Horsepower 

lbs/hr or lb/hr Pounds per Hour 

LDAR Leak Detection and Repair 

m Thousand 

MACT Maximum Achievable Control 

Technology 

mm Million 

mmBtu/hr Million British Thermal Units per 

    Hour 

mmft3/hr or Million Cubic Feet Burned per 

   mmcf/hr Hour 

NA or N/A Not Applicable 

NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality 

Standards 

NESHAPS National Emissions Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants 

NOx Nitrogen Oxides 

NSPS New Source Performance 

Standards 

PM Particulate Matter 

PM10 Particulate Matter less than 

10m in diameter 

pph Pounds per Hour 

ppm Parts per Million 

PSD Prevention of Significant 

Deterioration 

psi Pounds per Square Inch 

SIC Standard Industrial 

Classification 

SIP State Implementation Plan 

SO2 Sulfur Dioxide 

TAP Toxic Air Pollutant 

TPY Tons per Year 

TRS Total Reduced Sulfur 

TSP Total Suspended Particulate 

USEPA United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency 

UTM Universal Transverse 

Mercator 

VEE Visual Emissions 

Evaluation 

VOC Volatile Organic 

Compounds 
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2.3. Permit Expiration and Renewal 

 
2.3.1. Permit duration.  This permit is issued for a fixed term of five (5) years and shall expire on the date specified 

on the cover of this permit, except as provided in 45CSR§30-6.3.b. and 45CSR§30-6.3.c. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.b.] 

 

2.3.2. A permit renewal application is timely if it is submitted at least six (6) months prior to the date of permit 

expiration. 

[45CSR§30-4.1.a.3.] 

 

2.3.3. Permit expiration terminates the source's right to operate unless a timely and complete renewal application 

has been submitted consistent with 45CSR§30-6.2. and 45CSR§30-4.1.a.3. 

[45CSR§30-6.3.b.] 

 

2.3.4. If the Secretary fails to take final action to deny or approve a timely and complete permit application before 

the end of the term of the previous permit, the permit shall not expire until the renewal permit has been issued 

or denied, and any permit shield granted for the permit shall continue in effect during that time. 

[45CSR§30-6.3.c.] 

 

2.4. Permit Actions 

 

2.4.1. This permit may be modified, revoked, reopened and reissued, or terminated for cause.  The filing of a request 

by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination, or of a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.3.] 

 

2.5. Reopening for Cause 

 

2.5.1. This permit shall be reopened and revised under any of the following circumstances: 

 

a. Additional applicable requirements under the Clean Air Act or the Secretary's legislative rules become 

applicable to a major source with a remaining permit term of three (3) or more years.  Such a reopening 

shall be completed not later than eighteen (18) months after promulgation of the applicable requirement.  

No such reopening is required if the effective date of the requirement is later than the date on which the 

permit is due to expire, unless the original permit or any of its terms and conditions has been extended 

pursuant to 45CSR§§30-6.6.a.1.A. or B. 

 

b. Additional requirements (including excess emissions requirements) become applicable to an affected 

source under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control) or other legislative rules of the 

Secretary.  Upon approval by U.S. EPA, excess emissions offset plans shall be incorporated into the 

permit. 

 

c. The Secretary or U.S. EPA determines that the permit contains a material mistake or that inaccurate 

statements were made in establishing the emissions standards or other terms or conditions of the permit. 

 

d. The Secretary or U.S. EPA determines that the permit must be revised or revoked and reissued to assure 

compliance with the applicable requirements. 

 

[45CSR§30-6.6.a.] 
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2.6. Administrative Permit Amendments 

 

2.6.1. The permittee may request an administrative permit amendment as defined in and according to the procedures 

specified in 45CSR§30-6.4. 

[45CSR§30-6.4.] 

 

2.7. Minor Permit Modifications 

 

2.7.1. The permittee may request a minor permit modification as defined in and according to the procedures 

specified in 45CSR§30-6.5.a. 

[45CSR§30-6.5.a.] 

 

2.8. Significant Permit Modification 

 

2.8.1. The permittee may request a significant permit modification, in accordance with 45CSR§30-6.5.b., for permit 

modifications that do not qualify for minor permit modifications or as administrative amendments. 

[45CSR§30-6.5.b.] 

 

2.9. Emissions Trading 

 

2.9.1. No permit revision shall be required, under any approved economic incentives, marketable permits, emissions 

trading, and other similar programs or processes for changes that are provided for in the permit and that are 

in accordance with all applicable requirements. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.h.] 

 

2.10. Off-Permit Changes 

 

2.10.1. Except as provided below, a facility may make any change in its operations or emissions that is not addressed 

nor prohibited in its permit and which is not considered to be construction nor modification under any rule 

promulgated by the Secretary without obtaining an amendment or modification of its permit.  Such changes 

shall be subject to the following requirements and restrictions: 

 

a. The change must meet all applicable requirements and may not violate any existing permit term or 

condition. 

 

b. The permittee must provide a written notice of the change to the Secretary and to U.S. EPA within two 

(2) business days following the date of the change.  Such written notice shall describe each such change, 

including the date, any change in emissions, pollutants emitted, and any applicable requirement that 

would apply as a result of the change. 

 

c. The change shall not qualify for the permit shield. 

 

d. The permittee shall keep records describing all changes made at the source that result in emissions of 

regulated air pollutants, but not otherwise regulated under the permit, and the emissions resulting from 

those changes. 

 

e. No permittee may make any change subject to any requirement under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid 

Deposition Control) pursuant to the provisions of 45CSR§30-5.9. 
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f. No permittee may make any changes which would require preconstruction review under any provision 

of Title I of the Clean Air Act (including 45CSR14 and 45CSR19) pursuant to the provisions of 

45CSR§30-5.9. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.9.] 

 

2.11. Operational Flexibility 

 

2.11.1. The permittee may make changes within the facility as provided by § 502(b)(10) of the Clean Air Act.  Such 

operational flexibility shall be provided in the permit in conformance with the permit application and 

applicable requirements.  No such changes shall be a modification under any rule or any provision of Title I 

of the Clean Air Act (including 45CSR14 and 45CSR19) promulgated by the Secretary in accordance with 

Title I of the Clean Air Act and the change shall not result in a level of emissions exceeding the emissions 

allowable under the permit. 

[45CSR§30-5.8] 

 

2.11.2. Before making a change under 45CSR§30-5.8., the permittee shall provide advance written notice to the 

Secretary and to U.S. EPA, describing the change to be made, the date on which the change will occur, any 

changes in emissions, and any permit terms and conditions that are affected.  The permittee shall thereafter 

maintain a copy of the notice with the permit, and the Secretary shall place a copy with the permit in the 

public file.  The written notice shall be provided to the Secretary and U.S. EPA at least seven (7) days prior 

to the date that the change is to be made, except that this period may be shortened or eliminated as necessary 

for a change that must be implemented more quickly to address unanticipated conditions posing a significant 

health, safety, or environmental hazard.  If less than seven (7) days notice is provided because of a need to 

respond more quickly to such unanticipated conditions, the permittee shall provide notice to the Secretary 

and U.S. EPA as soon as possible after learning of the need to make the change. 

[45CSR§30-5.8.a.] 

 

2.11.3. The permit shield shall not apply to changes made under 45CSR§30-5.8., except those provided for in 

45CSR§30-5.8.d.  However, the protection of the permit shield will continue to apply to operations and 

emissions that are not affected by the change, provided that the permittee complies with the terms and 

conditions of the permit applicable to such operations and emissions.  The permit shield may be reinstated 

for emissions and operations affected by the change: 

 

a. If subsequent changes cause the facility's operations and emissions to revert to those authorized in the 

permit and the permittee resumes compliance with the terms and conditions of the permit, or 

 

b. If the permittee obtains final approval of a significant modification to the permit to incorporate the 

change in the permit. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.8.c.] 

 

2.11.4. "Section 502(b)(10) changes" are changes that contravene an express permit term.  Such changes do not 

include changes that would violate applicable requirements or contravene enforceable permit terms and 

conditions that are monitoring (including test methods), recordkeeping, reporting, or compliance certification 

requirements. 

[45CSR§30-2.40] 
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2.12. Reasonably Anticipated Operating Scenarios 

 

2.12.1. The following are terms and conditions for reasonably anticipated operating scenarios identified in this 

permit. 

 

a. Contemporaneously with making a change from one operating scenario to another, the permittee shall 

record in a log at the permitted facility a record of the scenario under which it is operating and to 

document the change in reports submitted pursuant to the terms of this permit and 45CSR30. 

 

b. The permit shield shall extend to all terms and conditions under each such operating scenario; and 

 

c. The terms and conditions of each such alternative scenario shall meet all applicable requirements and 

the requirements of 45CSR30. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.1.i.] 

 

2.13. Duty to Comply 

 

2.13.1. The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit.  Any permit noncompliance constitutes a 

violation of the West Virginia Code and the Clean Air Act and is grounds for enforcement action by the 

Secretary or USEPA; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or for denial of a 

permit renewal application. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.1.] 

 

2.14. Inspection and Entry 

 

2.14.1. The permittee shall allow any authorized representative of the Secretary, upon the presentation of credentials 

and other documents as may be required by law, to perform the following: 

 

a. At all reasonable times (including all times in which the facility is in operation) enter upon the permittee's 

premises where a source is located or emissions related activity is conducted, or where records must be 

kept under the conditions of this permit; 

 

b. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit; 

 

c. Inspect at reasonable times (including all times in which the facility is in operation) any facilities, 

equipment (including monitoring and air pollution control equipment), practices, or operations regulated 

or required under the permit; 

 

d. Sample or monitor at reasonable times substances or parameters to determine compliance with the permit 

or applicable requirements or ascertain the amounts and types of air pollutants discharged. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.3.b.] 
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2.15. Schedule of Compliance 

 

2.15.1. For sources subject to a compliance schedule, certified progress reports shall be submitted consistent with 

the applicable schedule of compliance set forth in this permit and 45CSR§30-4.3.h., but at least every six (6) 

months, and no greater than once a month, and shall include the following: 

 

a. Dates for achieving the activities, milestones, or compliance required in the schedule of compliance, and 

dates when such activities, milestones or compliance were achieved; and 

 

b. An explanation of why any dates in the schedule of compliance were not or will not be met, and any 

preventative or corrective measure adopted. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.3.d.] 

 

2.16. Need to Halt or Reduce Activity not a Defense 

 

2.16.1. It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been necessary to halt or 

reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this permit.  However, 

nothing in this paragraph shall be construed as precluding consideration of a need to halt or reduce activity 

as a mitigating factor in determining penalties for noncompliance if the health, safety, or environmental 

impacts of halting or reducing operations would be more serious than the impacts of continued operations. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.2.] 

 

2.17. Reserved 

 

2.18. Federally-Enforceable Requirements 

 

2.18.1. All terms and conditions in this permit, including any provisions designed to limit a source's potential to emit 

and excepting those provisions that are specifically designated in the permit as "State-enforceable only", are 

enforceable by the Secretary, USEPA, and citizens under the Clean Air Act.  

[45CSR§30-5.2.a.] 

 

2.18.2. Those provisions specifically designated in the permit as “State-enforceable only” shall become “Federally-

enforceable” requirements upon SIP approval by the USEPA.  

 

2.19. Duty to Provide Information 

 

2.19.1. The permittee shall furnish to the Secretary within a reasonable time any information the Secretary may 

request in writing to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

the permit or to determine compliance with the permit.  Upon request, the permittee shall also furnish to the 

Secretary copies of records required to be kept by the permittee.  For information claimed to be confidential, 

the permittee shall furnish such records to the Secretary along with a claim of confidentiality in accordance 

with 45CSR31.  If confidential information is to be sent to USEPA, the permittee shall directly provide such 

information to USEPA along with a claim of confidentiality in accordance with 40 C.F.R. Part 2. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.5.] 
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2.20. Duty to Supplement and Correct Information 

 

2.20.1. Upon becoming aware of a failure to submit any relevant facts or a submittal of incorrect information in any 

permit application, the permittee shall promptly submit to the Secretary such supplemental facts or corrected 

information. 

[45CSR§30-4.2.] 

 

2.21. Permit Shield 

 

2.21.1. Compliance with the conditions of this permit shall be deemed compliance with any applicable requirements 

as of the date of permit issuance provided that such applicable requirements are included and are specifically 

identified in this permit or the Secretary has determined that other requirements specifically identified are 

not applicable to the source and this permit includes such a determination or a concise summary thereof. 

[45CSR§30-5.6.a.] 

 

2.21.2. Nothing in this permit shall alter or affect the following: 

 

a. The liability of an owner or operator of a source for any violation of applicable requirements prior to or 

at the time of permit issuance; or 

 

b. The applicable requirements of the Code of West Virginia and Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid 

Deposition Control), consistent with § 408 (a) of the Clean Air Act. 

 

c. The authority of the Administrator of U.S. EPA to require information under § 114 of the Clean Air Act 

or to issue emergency orders under § 303 of the Clean Air Act. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.6.c.] 

 

2.22. Credible Evidence 

 

2.22.1. Nothing in this permit shall alter or affect the ability of any person to establish compliance with, or a violation 

of, any applicable requirement through the use of credible evidence to the extent authorized by law.  Nothing 

in this permit shall be construed to waive any defenses otherwise available to the permittee including but not 

limited to any challenge to the credible evidence rule in the context of any future proceeding. 

[45CSR§30-5.3.e.3.B.] 

 

2.23. Severability 

 

2.23.1. The provisions of this permit are severable.  If any provision of this permit, or the application of any provision 

of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining permit 

terms and conditions or their application to other circumstances shall remain in full force and effect. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.e.] 

 

2.24. Property Rights 

 

2.24.1. This permit does not convey any property rights of any sort or any exclusive privilege. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.4] 
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2.25. Acid Deposition Control 

 

2.25.1. Emissions shall not exceed any allowances that the source lawfully holds under Title IV of the Clean Air Act 

(Acid Deposition Control) or rules of the Secretary promulgated thereunder. 

 

a. No permit revision shall be required for increases in emissions that are authorized by allowances 

acquired pursuant to the acid deposition control program, provided that such increases do not require a 

permit revision under any other applicable requirement. 

 

b. No limit shall be placed on the number of allowances held by the source.  The source may not, however, 

use allowances as a defense to noncompliance with any other applicable requirement.  

 

c. Any such allowance shall be accounted for according to the procedures established in rules promulgated 

under Title IV of the Clean Air Act. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.1.d.] 

 

2.25.2. Where applicable requirements of the Clean Air Act are more stringent than any applicable requirement of 

regulations promulgated under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control), both provisions shall 

be incorporated into the permit and shall be enforceable by the Secretary and U. S. EPA. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.a.2.] 
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3.0 Facility-Wide Requirements 

 

3.1. Limitations and Standards 

 

3.1.1. Open burning.  The open burning of refuse by any person is prohibited except as noted in 45CSR§6-3.1. 

[45CSR§6-3.1.] 

 

3.1.2. Open burning exemptions.  The exemptions listed in 45CSR§6-3.1 are subject to the following stipulation:  

Upon notification by the Secretary, no person shall cause or allow any form of open burning during existing 

or predicted periods of atmospheric stagnation.  Notification shall be made by such means as the Secretary 

may deem necessary and feasible. 

[45CSR§6-3.2.] 

 

3.1.3. Asbestos.  The permittee is responsible for thoroughly inspecting the facility, or part of the facility, prior to 

commencement of demolition or renovation for the presence of asbestos and complying with 40 C.F.R. § 

61.145, 40 C.F.R. § 61.148, and 40 C.F.R. § 61.150. The permittee, owner, or operator must notify the 

Secretary at least ten (10) working days prior to the commencement of any asbestos removal on the forms 

prescribed by the Secretary if the permittee is subject to the notification requirements of 40 C.F.R. § 

61.145(b)(3)(i).  The USEPA, the Division of Waste Management and the Bureau for Public Health - 

Environmental Health require a copy of this notice to be sent to them. 

[40 C.F.R. §61.145(b) and 45CSR34]  

 

3.1.4. Odor.  No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute 

to an objectionable odor at any location occupied by the public. 

[45CSR§4-3.1 State-Enforceable only.] 

 

3.1.5. Standby plan for reducing emissions.  When requested by the Secretary, the permittee shall prepare standby 

plans for reducing the emissions of air pollutants in accordance with the objectives set forth in Tables I, II, 

and III of 45CSR11. 

[45CSR§11-5.2] 

 

3.1.6. Emission inventory.  The permittee is responsible for submitting, on an annual basis, an emission inventory 

in accordance with the submittal requirements of the Division of Air Quality. 

[W.Va. Code § 22-5-4(a)(14)] 

 

3.1.7. Ozone-depleting substances.  For those facilities performing maintenance, service, repair or disposal of 

appliances, the permittee shall comply with the standards for recycling and emissions reduction pursuant to 

40 C.F.R. Part 82, Subpart F, except as provided for Motor Vehicle Air Conditioners (MVACs) in Subpart 

B: 

 

a. Persons opening appliances for maintenance, service, repair, or disposal must comply with the 

prohibitions and required practices pursuant to 40 C.F.R. §§ 82.154 and 82.156. 

 

b. Equipment used during the maintenance, service, repair, or disposal of appliances must comply with the 

standards for recycling and recovery equipment pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 82.158. 

 

c. Persons performing maintenance, service, repair, or disposal of appliances must be certified by an 

approved technician certification program pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 82.161. 
[40 C.F.R. 82, Subpart F] 
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3.1.8. Risk Management Plan.  Should this stationary source, as defined in 40 C.F.R. § 68.3, become subject to 

Part 68, then the owner or operator shall submit a risk management plan (RMP) by the date specified in 40 

C.F.R. § 68.10 and shall certify compliance with the requirements of Part 68 as part of the annual compliance 

certification as required by 40 C.F.R. Part 70 or 71. 

[40 C.F.R. 68]  

 

3.1.9. No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit fugitive particulate matter to be discharged beyond the 

boundary lines of the property on which the discharge originates or at any public or residential location, 

which causes or contributes to statutory air pollution. 

[45CSR§17-3.1; State Enforceable Only] 

 

3.2. Monitoring Requirements 

 

3.2.1. None. 

 

3.3. Testing Requirements 

 

3.3.1. Stack testing.  As per provisions set forth in this permit or as otherwise required by the Secretary, in 

accordance with the West Virginia Code, underlying regulations, permits and orders, the permittee shall 

conduct test(s) to determine compliance with the emission limitations set forth in this permit and/or 

established or set forth in underlying documents.  The Secretary, or his duly authorized representative, may 

at his option witness or conduct such test(s).  Should the Secretary exercise his option to conduct such test(s), 

the operator shall provide all necessary sampling connections and sampling ports to be located in such manner 

as the Secretary may require, power for test equipment and the required safety equipment, such as scaffolding, 

railings and ladders, to comply with generally accepted good safety practices. Such tests shall be conducted 

in accordance with the methods and procedures set forth in this permit or as otherwise approved or specified 

by the Secretary in accordance with the following: 

 

a. The Secretary may on a source-specific basis approve or specify additional testing or alternative testing 

to the test methods specified in the permit for demonstrating compliance with 40 C.F.R. Parts 60, 61, 

and 63, if applicable, in accordance with the Secretary’s delegated authority and any established 

equivalency determination methods which are applicable. 

 

b. The Secretary may on a source-specific basis approve or specify additional testing or alternative testing 

to the test methods specified in the permit for demonstrating compliance with applicable requirements 

which do not involve federal delegation.  In specifying or approving such alternative testing to the test 

methods, the Secretary, to the extent possible, shall utilize the same equivalency criteria as would be 

used in approving such changes under Section 3.3.1.a. of this permit.   

 

c. All periodic tests to determine mass emission limits from or air pollutant concentrations in discharge 

stacks and such other tests as specified in this permit shall be conducted in accordance with an approved 

test protocol.  Unless previously approved, such protocols shall be submitted to the Secretary in writing 

at least thirty (30) days prior to any testing and shall contain the information set forth by the Secretary.  

In addition, the permittee shall notify the Secretary at least fifteen (15) days prior to any testing so the 

Secretary may have the opportunity to observe such tests.  This notification shall include the actual date 

and time during which the test will be conducted and, if appropriate, verification that the tests will fully 

conform to a referenced protocol previously approved by the Secretary. 
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d. The permittee shall submit a report of the results of the stack test within 60 days of completion of the 

test.  The test report shall provide the information necessary to document the objectives of the test and 

to determine whether proper procedures were used to accomplish these objectives.  The report shall 

include the following:  the certification described in paragraph 3.5.1; a statement of compliance status, 

also signed by a responsible official; and, a summary of conditions which form the basis for the 

compliance status evaluation.  The summary of conditions shall include the following: 

 

1. The permit or rule evaluated, with the citation number and language.  

 

2. The result of the test for each permit or rule condition.  

 

3. A statement of compliance or non-compliance with each permit or rule condition.  

 

[WV Code §§ 22-5-4(a)(14-15) and 45CSR13] 

 

3.4. Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

3.4.1. Monitoring information.  The permittee shall keep records of monitoring information that include the 

following: 

 

a. The date, place as defined in this permit and time of sampling or measurements; 

 

b. The date(s) analyses were performed; 

 

c. The company or entity that performed the analyses; 

 

d. The analytical techniques or methods used; 

 

e. The results of the analyses; and 

 

f. The operating conditions existing at the time of sampling or measurement. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.2.A. and 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.4.1] (HTR2, HTR3, SH1, E07, E08, E09, E10, G3, 

E11, T01-T04, HTR4, SH2, SH3, HTR5) 

 

3.4.2. Retention of records.  The permittee shall retain records of all required monitoring data and support 

information for a period of at least five (5) years from the date of monitoring sample, measurement, report, 

application, or record creation date.  Support information includes all calibration and maintenance records 

and all original strip-chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation, and copies of all reports 

required by the permit.  Where appropriate, records may be maintained in computerized form in lieu of the 

above records. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.2.B.] 

 

3.4.3. Odors.  For the purposes of 45CSR4, the permittee shall maintain a record of all odor complaints received, 

any investigation performed in response to such a complaint, and any responsive action(s) taken. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c. State-Enforceable only.] 
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3.5. Reporting Requirements 

 

3.5.1. Responsible official.  Any application form, report, or compliance certification required by this permit to be 

submitted to the DAQ and/or USEPA shall contain a certification by the responsible official that states that, 

based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the 

document are true, accurate and complete. 

[45CSR§§30-4.4. and 5.1.c.3.D.] 

 

3.5.2. A permittee may request confidential treatment for the submission of reporting required under 45CSR§30-

5.1.c.3. pursuant to the limitations and procedures of W.Va. Code § 22-5-10 and 45CSR31. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.E.] 

 

3.5.3. Except for the electronic submittal of the annual compliance certification and semi-annual monitoring reports 

to the DAQ and USEPA as required in 3.5.5 and 3.5.6 below, all notices, requests, demands, submissions 

and other communications required or permitted to be made to the Secretary of DEP and/or USEPA shall be 

made in writing and shall be deemed to have been duly given when delivered by hand, or mailed first class 

or by private carrier with postage prepaid to the address(es), or submitted in electronic format by e-mail as 

set forth below or to such other person or address as the Secretary of the Department of Environmental 

Protection may designate: 

 

DAQ: US EPA:  

 

 

Director 

WVDEP 

Division of Air Quality 

601 57th Street SE 

Charleston, WV  25304 

 

 

 

 

Section Chief 

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III 

Enforcement and Compliance Assurance Division 

Air, RCRA and Toxics Branch (3ED21) 

Four Penn Center 

1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard 

Philadelphia, PA  19103-2852 

     DAQ Compliance and Enforcement1: 

      DEPAirQualityReports@wv.gov 
 

1For all self-monitoring reports (MACT, GACT, NSPS, etc.), stack tests and protocols, Notice of Compliance 

Status reports, Initial Notifications, etc. 

 

3.5.4. Fees.  The permittee shall pay fees on an annual basis in accordance with 45CSR§30-8.   

[45CSR§30-8.] 

 

3.5.5. Compliance certification.  The permittee shall certify compliance with the conditions of this permit on the 

forms provided by the DAQ.  In addition to the annual compliance certification, the permittee may be required 

to submit certifications more frequently under an applicable requirement of this permit.  The annual 

certification shall be submitted to the DAQ and USEPA on or before March 15 of each year, and shall certify 

compliance for the period ending December 31.  The permittee shall maintain a copy of the certification on 

site for five (5) years from submittal of the certification.  The annual certification shall be submitted in 

electronic format by e-mail to the following addresses: 

DAQ: US EPA: 

DEPAirQualityReports@wv.gov R3_APD_Permits@epa.gov 

 

[45CSR§30-5.3.e.] 
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3.5.6. Semi-annual monitoring reports.  The permittee shall submit reports of any required monitoring on or 

before September 15 for the reporting period January 1 to June 30 and on or before March 15 for the reporting 

period July 1 to December 31.  All instances of deviation from permit requirements must be clearly identified 

in such reports.  All required reports must be certified by a responsible official consistent with 45CSR§30-

4.4.  The semi-annual monitoring reports shall be submitted in electronic format by e-mail to the following 

address: 

 

DAQ:  

DEPAirQualityReports@wv.gov  

 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.A.] 

 

3.5.7. Reserved. 

 

3.5.8. Deviations.   

 

a. In addition to monitoring reports required by this permit, the permittee shall promptly submit 

supplemental reports and notices in accordance with the following: 

 

1. Reserved. 

 

2. Any deviation that poses an imminent and substantial danger to public health, safety, or the 

environment shall be reported to the Secretary immediately by telephone or email.  A written report 

of such deviation, which shall include the probable cause of such deviation, and any corrective 

actions or preventative measures taken, shall be submitted by the responsible official within ten (10) 

days of the deviation. 

 

3. Deviations for which more frequent reporting is required under this permit shall be reported on the 

more frequent basis. 

 

4. All reports of deviations shall identify the probable cause of the deviation and any corrective actions 

or preventative measures taken. 

 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.C.] 

 

b. The permittee shall, in the reporting of deviations from permit requirements, including those attributable 

to upset conditions as defined in this permit, report the probable cause of such deviations and any 

corrective actions or preventive measures taken in accordance with any rules of the Secretary. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.B.] 

 

3.5.9. New applicable requirements.  If any applicable requirement is promulgated during the term of this permit, 

the permittee will meet such requirements on a timely basis, or in accordance with a more detailed schedule 

if required by the applicable requirement. 

[45CSR§30-4.3.h.1.B.] 

 

3.6. Compliance Plan 

 

3.6.1. None. 
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3.7. Permit Shield 

 

3.7.1. The permittee is hereby granted a permit shield in accordance with 45CSR§30-5.6.  The permit shield applies 

provided the permittee operates in accordance with the information contained within this permit. 

 

3.7.2. The following requirements specifically identified are not applicable to the source based on the 

determinations set forth below.  The permit shield shall apply to the following requirements provided the 

conditions of the determinations are met. 

45CSR4  To Prevent and Control the Discharge of Air Pollutants into the Open Air 

Which Cause or Contributes to an Objectionable Odor or Odors:  This 

State Rule shall not apply to the following source of objectionable odor 

until feasible control methods are developed: Internal combustion 

engines. 

45CSR10 To Prevent and Control Air Pollution from the Emission of Sulfur 

Oxides:  The sulfur requirement for fuel burning units do not apply to 

indirect combustion sources at this site because there are no units with 

design heat inputs above 10 MMBtu/hr.  Therefore, they are exempt in 

accordance with 45CSR§10-10.1   

45CSR21 

 

To Prevent and Control Air Pollution from the Emission of Volatile 

Organic Compounds: This facility is not located in one of the subject 

counties defined by this Rule: Wood, Wayne, Putnam, Kanawha, or 

Cabell. 

45CSR27 

 

To Prevent and Control the Emissions of Toxic Air Pollutants: Natural 

gas is included as a petroleum product and contains less than 5% 

benzene by weight. 45CSR§27-2.4 exempts equipment “used in the 

production and distribution of petroleum products providing that such 

equipment does not produce or contact materials containing more than 

5% benzene by weight.”  

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart 

IIII 

Standards of Performance for Stationary Compression Ignition Internal 

Combustion Engines: There are no compression ignition engines at this 

facility. 

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart 

OOOO 

Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Facilities for 

which Construction, Modification, or Reconstruction Commenced after 

August 23, 2011 and on or before September 18, 2015. This facility is not 

subject to the requirements of this subpart because it does not meet the 40 

C.F.R. §60.5430 definition of a Crude Oil and Natural Gas 

Production source category. 

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart 

OOOOa 

Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Facilities for 

which Construction, Modification, or Reconstruction Commenced after 

September 18, 2015.  The GHG and VOC requirements defined by this 

subpart are not applicable to this site in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 

§60.5365a because all affected sources commenced construction prior to 

September 18, 2015 (applicability date of 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOOOa). 

The permittee has demonstrated to the WV Division of Air Quality that 

the construction of the Combustion Turbines/Compressors #3 and #4 

commenced prior to September 18, 2015. Therefore, the facility is not 

subject to the leak detection and repair requirements of this regulation. 

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart Dc 

 

Standards of Performance for Steam Generating Units:  The boiler and 

fuel gas heaters at this facility are less than 10 MMBtu/hr design heat 

capacity, which is below the applicability criteria stated in 40 C.F.R. 

§60.40c(a). 

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subparts K Standards of Performance for Petroleum Liquid Storage Vessels.  All 
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and Ka 

 

tanks at the station are below the applicability criteria of 40,000 gallons 

in capacity as stated in 40 C.F.R. §§60.110(a) and 60.110a(a). 

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart Kb 

 

Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Vessels.  

All tanks at the station are between 75 m3 (19,813 gallons) and 151 m3 

(39,890 gallons) in capacity storing a liquid with a maximum true vapor 

pressure less than 15 kPa (112.5 mmHg). Therefore, they are exempt from 

this subpart as stated in the applicability criteria of 40 C.F.R. 

§§60.110b(a) and (b). 

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart 

KKK 

 

Standards of Performance for Equipment Leaks of VOC From Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing Plant(s).  The station is not engaged in the 

extraction or fractionation of natural gas liquids from field gas, the 

fractionation of mixed natural gas liquids to natural gas products, or both.  

As a result, the station has no affected sources operating within this source 

category.   

40 C.F.R. Part 60 Subpart 

GG 

The provisions of this subpart are not applicable because the turbines 

were installed after the applicability dates and are therefore subject to 40 

C.F.R. 60 Subpart KKKK. 

40 C.F.R. Part 63 Subpart 

HHH 

 

National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants From Natural 

Gas Transmission and Storage Facilities.  The transmission station is not 

subject to Subpart HHH since there are no affected dehydration units 

utilized at this site.   

40 C.F.R. Part 64 CAM Per 40 C.F.R. §64.2(a)(2) the compliance assurance monitoring 

provisions of Part 64 are not applicable to the equipment at the station due 

to them not having add-on controls (except Reciprocating Engine / 

Compressor E11). The Reciprocating Engine / Compressor E11 is the only 

potential PSEU at the station (it has PTE above 100 TPY before controls 

and a control device OC1).  Since this engine is subject to the 

requirements of 40 C.F.R. 60 Subpart JJJJ and 40 C.F.R. 63 Subpart 

ZZZZ, CAM is not applicable per 40 C.F.R. §64.2(b)(1)(i). 

 

     3.8.     Emergency Operating Scenario 

 

For emergency situations which interrupt the critical supply of natural gas to the public, and which pose a life 

threatening circumstance to the customer, the permittee is allowed to temporarily replace failed engine(s) as long as 

all of the following conditions are met: 

 

a. The replacement engine(s) is only allowed to operate until repair of the failed engine(s) is complete, but 

under no circumstance may the replacement engine(s) operate in excess of sixty (60) days; 

 

b. Both the replacement engine(s) and the repaired failed engine(s) shall not operate at the same time with the 

exception of any necessary testing of the repaired engine(s) and this testing may not exceed five (5) hours; 

 

 

c. Potential hourly emissions from the replacement engine(s) are less than or equal to the potential hourly 

emissions from the engine(s) being replaced; 

 

d. Credible performance emission test data verifying the emission rates associated with the operation of the 

substitute engine shall be submitted to the Director within five (5) days; 

 

e. The permittee must provide written notification to the Director within five (5) days of the replacement.  This 

notification must contain: 
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i. Information to support the claim of life threatening circumstances to justify applicability of this 

emergency provision;  

     

ii. Identification of the engine(s) being temporarily replaced; 

 

iii. The design parameters of the replacement engine(s) including, but not limited to, the design horsepower 

and emission factors; 

 

iv. Projected duration of the replacement engine(s); and 

 

v.    The appropriate certification by a responsible official. 

 

[45CSR§30-12.7]
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4.0. 45CSR14 Permit Requirements, R14-0013F R14-0013E [emission point ID(s): E07, E08, E09, E10, 

E11, G3, T01, T02, T03, T04, HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5, SH1, SH2, SH3] 

 

     4.1.    Limitations and Standards 

 

 4.1.1. Only those emission units as identified in Table 1.0 are authorized by this permit.  In accordance with the 

information filed in Permit Applications R14-0013 through R14-0013F R14-0013E, the emission units 

identified under Table 1.0 of this permit shall be installed, maintained, and operated so as to minimize any 

fugitive escape of pollutants and shall not exceed the listed design capacities.  

  [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.1] (E07, E08, E09, E10, E11, G3, T01, T02, T03, T04, HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, 

HTR5, SH1, SH2, SH3) 

 

 4.1.2. The facility shall employ three (3) Clark TLA-8 natural-gas fired compressor engines.  The operation of these 

engines shall not exceed the following maximum combined operating and emission limitations: 

 

  a. The engines shall be limited to the maximum operating capacities as shown in Table 4.1.2(a). 

 

   Table 4.1.2(a) 

Engine No. 

- Source ID - 

Maximum 

Engine Rating(1) 

(hp) 

Total 

Combined Annual 

Operating Limit 

(bhp-hr/yr) 

No. 7 

- 002-07 - 
2,700 

70,956,000 
No. 8 

- 002-08 - 
2,700 

No. 9 

- 002-09 - 
2,700 

(1) Maximum rating based on standard operating conditions.  Under ambient operating conditions (less 

than 40̊F), the maximum peak rating of each engine is 3,015 horsepower. 

 

    b. Emissions released from the engines shall not exceed the maximum individual hourly and total combined 

annual emission limits set forth in Table 4.1.2(b). 

 

     Table 4.1.2(b) 

Emission 

Point ID 

 

Pollutant 

Emission Limits 

Individual 

Hourly 

(g/hp-hr) 

Individual 

Annual 

(g/hp-hr) 

Total 

Combined Annual 

(tons/yr) 

E07, E08, E09 

NOX 
9.0 

9.5 
7.19 

562.37 

562.5 

CO 3.1 2.60 
203.36 

203.4 

 

         [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.2] (E07, E08, E09) 
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  4.1.3. The facility shall employ one (1) Clark TLAD-10 natural-gas fired compressor engine.  The operation of this 

engine shall not exceed the following maximum operating and emission limitations: 

 

a. The engines shall be limited to the maximum operating capacities as shown in Table 4.1.3(a). 

 

                                     Table 4.1.3(a) 

Engine No. 

- Source ID - 
Maximum 

Engine Rating (hp) 

No. 10 

- 002-10 - 
4,640 

 

  b. Emissions released from the engine shall not exceed the maximum hourly and annual emission limits set 

forth in Table 4.1.3(b). 

                                     

                                     Table 4.1.3(b) 

Emission  

Point ID Pollutant 

Emission Factor 

(g/hp-hr) 

Maximum Emission Rates 

Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

E10 

NOX 2.0 20.5 89.6 

CO 2.1 22.5 98.5 

VOC 0.7 8.2 35.8 

SO2 0.003 0.1 0.2 

PM(1) 0.19 1.9 8.3 

(1) All particulate matter emissions assumed to be less than PM2.5.  Includes condensables. 

 
 [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.3] (E10) 

 
  4.1.4.     The facility shall employ one (1) Caterpillar G3616 natural-gas fired compressor engine.  The operation of  

                this engine shall not exceed the following maximum operating and emission limitations: 

 
                             a.     The engine shall be limited to the maximum operating capacities as shown in Table 4.1.4(a). 

                                      

                                     Table 4.1.4(a) 

Engine No. 

- Source ID - 
Maximum 

Engine Rating (hp) 

No. 11 

- 002-13 - 
4,735 
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b. Emissions released from the engine shall not exceed the maximum hourly and annual emission limits set 

forth in Table 4.1.4(b).  

 

Table 4.1.4(b) 

Emission  

Point ID Pollutant 

Emission Factor 

(g/hp-hr) 

Maximum Emission Rates 

Hourly (lb/hr) Annual(ton/yr) 

E11 

NOX 0.70 7.30 32.00 

CO 0.63 6.52 28.60 

VOC 0.16 1.70 7.42 

SO2 0.0024 0.02 0.11 

PM(1) 0.034 0.40 1.60 

Formaldehyde 0.114 1.19 5.22 

                                     (1) All particulate matter emissions assumed to be less than PM2.5.  Includes condensables. 

 

  c. The permittee shall install, maintain and operate an oxidation catalyst on engine E11 to reduce CO, VOC, 

and formaldehyde emissions.  The oxidation catalyst shall be utilized at all times the engine is operating. 

 

  d. The permittee shall regularly inspect, maintain, and repair engine E11 and its oxidation catalyst to assure 

proper operation.  The engine and the oxidation catalyst shall be operated, maintained and serviced per 

manufacturer recommendations.  Based on manufacturer recommendations, the permittee must either 

maintain on-site spare parts for use in immediate repair or participate in a quick turn-around catalyst 

element cleaning/loaner program with a catalyst supplier. 

   

  [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(a), (b), (c) and (f)] (E11) 

 

 4.1.5. The facility shall employ two (2) Solar Taurus 70 and two (2) Solar Mars 100 natural-gas fired turbines.  The 

operation of these turbines shall not exceed the following maximum operating and emission limitations: 

 

  a. The turbines shall be limited to the maximum operating capacities as shown in Table 4.1.5(a). 

 

          Table 4.1.5(a) 

Turbine No. 

- Source ID - 

Maximum 

Turbine Rating (hp) 
 

No. 1 

- 003-01 - 

9,236 hp @ 59̊ F 

11,557 hp @ 0̊ F 

No. 2 

- 003-02 - 

9,236 hp @ 59̊ F 

11,557 hp @ 0̊ F 

No. 3 

- 003-03 - 
15,067 hp @ 32̊ F 

No. 4 

- 003-04 - 
15,067 hp @ 32̊ F 
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a.b. Emissions released from the turbines shall not exceed the maximum individual hourly (per operation 

mode) and total combined annual emission limits set forth in Table 4.1.5(b) and (c). 

 

Table 4.1.5(b) 

Emission  

Point ID 

 

Pollutant 

Maximum Emission Rates 

Individual Hourly (lb/hr)(1) 
Combined 

Annual 

(ton/yr) 

Normal 

Load 

Low 

Temp 

Very Low 

Temp 

Low-

Load 

Startup/ 

Shutdown (1) 

T01, T02 

NOX 5.04 15.00 42.84 24.56 2.40 47.57 

CO 5.12 21.73 32.60 1,708.23 214.60 103.01 

VOC 0.73 1.55 1.55 24.40 3.05 7.36 

SO2 4.70 4.70 4.70 4.70 4.70 0.52 

PM(2) 0.61 0.61 0.61 0.61 0.61 5.38 

CO2e 10,904 10,904 10,904 10,904 10,904 95,518 

Formaldehyde 0.06 0.06 0.06 0.06 0.06 0.52 

   (1)  Operating modes are defined under 4.2.3(a).  Startup/shutdown emissions are per cycle and not lb/hr. 

   (2)  All particulate matter emissions assumed to be less than PM2.5.  Includes condensables. 

 

Table 4.1.5(c) 

Emission  

Point ID 

 

Pollutant 

Maximum Emission Rates 

Individual Hourly (lb/hr)(1) Combined 

Annual 

(ton/yr) Normal Load Low Temp Low-Load Startup / Shutdown(1) 

T03, T04 

NOX 6.96 21.16 16.10 3.10 64.52 

CO 7.07 30.67 653.41 272.70 96.29 

VOC 0.81 1.75 7.47 3.12 7.62 

SO2 7.36 7.36 7.36 7.36 0.81 

PM(2) 0.85 0.85 0.85 0.85 7.45 

CO2e 15,087 15,087 15,087 15,087 132,159 

Formaldehyde 0.09 0.09 0.09 0.09 0.80 

   (1)  Operating modes are defined under 4.2.4(a).  Startup/shutdown emissions are per cycle and not lb/hr. 

   (2)  All particulate matter emissions assumed to be less than PM2.5.  Includes condensables. 

 

    c. Each Turbine shall be equipped with SoLoNOx
TM lean-premixed combustion technology to ensure 

uniform air/fuel mixture and to prevent formation of NOx. 

        

    [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.5(a), (b) and (c)] (T01, T02, T03, T04) 
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  4.1.6. The Fuel Heaters (001-04, 001-05, 001-07, 001-10) and the Catalytic Heaters (001-06, 001-08, 001-09) shall 

operate according to the following requirements: 

 

    a. The maximum emissions from Fuel Heater 001-04 shall not exceed the limits given in the following 

table; 

 

     Table 4.1.6(a): Fuel Heater 001-04 Emission Limits 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.06 0.27 

NOx 0.07 0.32 

 

    b. The maximum emissions from Fuel Heater 001-05 shall not exceed the limits given in the following 

table; 

 

     Table 4.1.6(b): Fuel Heater 001-05 Emission Limits 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.02 0.09 

NOx 0.02 0.11 

 

    c. The maximum emissions from Fuel Heater 001-07 shall not exceed the limits given in the following 

table; 

 

     Table 4.1.6(c): Fuel Heater 001-07 Emission Limits 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.04 0.18 

NOx 0.05 0.21 

         

    d. The maximum emissions from Fuel Heater 001-10 shall not exceed the limits given in the following 

table: 

 

Table 4.1.6(d): Fuel Heater 001-10 Emission Limits 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.10 0.42 

NOx 0.11 0.50 

 

    d.e. The maximum emissions from the Catalytic Heaters (001-06) shall not exceed the limits given in the 

following table; 

 

     Table 4.1.6(d)(e): Catalytic Heaters (001-06) Emission Limits(1) 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.24 1.04 

NOx 0.28 1.24 

     (1) Both hourly and annual limits are aggregate limits for all 40 Catalytic Heaters. 
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    e.f. The maximum emissions from the Catalytic Heaters (001-08) shall not exceed the limits given in the 

following table; 

 

     Table 4.1.6(e)(f): Catalytic Heaters (001-08) Emission Limits(1) 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.11 0.48 

NOx 0.13 0.57 

     (1) Both hourly and annual limits are aggregate limits for all 26 Catalytic Heaters. 

 

    f.g. The maximum emissions from the Catalytic Heaters (001-09) shall not exceed the limits given in the 

following table; 

 

     Table 4.1.6(f)(g): Catalytic Heaters (001-09) Emission Limits(1) 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 0.05 0.24 

NOx 0.06 0.28 

     (1) Both hourly and annual limits are aggregate limits for all 22 Catalytic Heaters. 

 

    g.h. As the annual emission limits given in Table 4.1.6 (a-gf) are based on operating 8,760 hours/year, there 

is no limit on the annual hours of operation or fuel usage of the Fuel Heaters or the Catalytic Heaters. 

      

    [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.6(a) through (h)(g)] (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5, SH1, SH2, SH3) 

 

  4.1.7. The Waukesha VGF-48GL Emergency Generator (002-12) shall operate according to the following 

requirements: 

 

    a. The maximum emissions from 002-12 shall not exceed the limits given in the following table; 

 

     Table 4.1.7(a): Emergency Generator 002-12 Emission Limits 

Pollutant Hourly (lb/hr) Annual (ton/yr) 

CO 3.04 0.76 

NOx 4.68 1.17 

VOC 0.61 0.15 

 

c.b. Maximum Yearly Operation Limitation  The Emergency Generator (002-12) shall not operate in excess 

of 500 hours per year (during periods of non-emergencies).  Compliance with the Maximum Yearly 

Operation Limitation shall be determined using a twelve month rolling total.  A twelve month rolling 

total shall mean the sum of the hours of operation at any given time during the previous twelve 

consecutive calendar months. [45CSR§13-5.1011] 

 

d.c. The permittee shall maintain on-site verification that the Emergency Generator was manufactured prior 

to January 1, 2009. 

 

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.7] (G3) 
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4.1.8. The following conditions and requirements are specific to Heaters (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5): 

a. Maximum Design Heat Input.  The maximum design heat input (MDHI) shall not exceed the 

following: 

 

Emission Point ID Emission Unit Description MDHI (MMBtu/hr) 

HTR2 Fuel Gas Heater #2 0.75 

HTR3 Fuel Gas Heater #3 0.25 

HTR4 Fuel Gas Heater #4 0.50 

HTR5 Fuel Gas Heater #5 1.172 

This condition satisfies compliance with the limitation of 45CSR§2-3.1. 

Heaters (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4) shall be designed and constructed with a maximum design heat input of 

0.75 MMBtu/hr, 0.25 MMBTU/hr and 0.50 MMBTU/hr respectively.  The condition satisfies 

compliance with the limitation of 45CSR§2-3.1. 

 

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.8(a)] (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5) 

 

  4.1.9. Operation and Maintenance of Air Pollution Control Equipment.  The permittee shall, to the extent 

practicable, install, maintain, and operate all pollution control equipment listed in Section 1.0 and associated 

monitoring equipment in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control practices for 

minimizing emissions, or comply with any more stringent limits set forth in this permit or as set forth by any 

State rule, Federal regulation, or alternative control plan approved by the Secretary. 

    [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.114.1.9] (E11) 

 

 4.2.      Monitoring Requirements 

 

4.2.1. For the purpose of determining compliance with the operating limits set forth in Section 4.1.2 of this permit, 

the permittee shall monitor and record the actual brake horsepower-hours generated by each of the permitted 

engines. The records shall be maintained in a format that demonstrates compliance with the total maximum 

brake-horsepower hour limits established in Section 4.1.2 of this permit. 

  [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.1] (E07, E08, E09) 

 

4.2.2. For the purpose of demonstrating compliance with the annual emission limits set forth in Section 4.1.2 of 

this permit, the permittee shall maintain records of the actual emissions calculated using the actual brake-

horsepower hour records of Section 4.2.1 of this permit and the engine specific hourly emission factors.  The 

hourly emission factors used to show compliance for engines E07 - E09 are listed in Condition 4.1.2.b.shall 

be 7.2 g-NOx/bhp-hr and 2.6 g-CO/bhp-hr.   

  [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.2] (E07, E08, E09) 

 

4.2.3. The permittee shall calculate and record, on a monthly and rolling twelve month basis, the emissions of each 

pollutant limited under Table 4.1.5(b) generated by turbines 003-01 and 003-02.  The calculation shall be 

based on the emission factors used in permit application R14-0013E and the following information: 

 

a. The permittee shall monitor and record the number of hours that the turbines 003-01 and 003-02 operate 

    in the following operational modes:  

 

     (1) Normal: ≥50% Load and ≥ 10 ̊F; 

     (2) Low Temp: < 10F̊ ≥ -20̊F; 

     (3) Very Low Temp: < -20̊F; and 
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     (4) Low-Load: < 50% Load. 

 

 

b. The permittee shall monitor and record the number of startup/shutdowns of each turbine. 

 

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.3] (T01, T02) 

 

4.2.4. The permittee shall calculate and record, on a monthly and rolling twelve month basis, the emissions of each 

pollutant limited under Table 4.1.5(c) generated by turbines 003-03 and 003-04.  The calculation shall be 

based on the emission factors used in permit application R14-0013E and the following information: 

 

 

a. The permittee shall monitor and record the number of hours that the turbines 003-03 and 003-04 operate 

in the following operational modes: 

  

     (1) Normal: > 50% Load and ≥ 0 ̊F; 

     (2) Low Temp: < 0F̊ ; and 

     (3) Low-Load: < 50% Load. 

 

b.  The permittee shall monitor and record the number of startup/shutdowns of each turbine; 

 

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.4] 

 

  4.2.5. For the purposes of demonstrating compliance with the maximum usage limits set forth in 4.1.7(b), the 

permittee shall monitor and record the monthly and rolling twelve month hours of operation of the emergency 

generator.  

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.5] (G3) 

 

       4.2.6.  The permittee shall employ automatic control systems on the compressor engine No. 10 (Emission Unit ID 

002-10) that will continuously monitor and control key engine operating parameters.  These parameters 

include engine horsepower, speed, air manifold temperature, and fuel flow.  These values are then used to 

determine the air manifold pressure that is required to achieve the specified air/fuel ratio and emission rate. 

As engine operating conditions change, the control system adjusts air manifold pressure to continuously 

maintain the required emission levels. 

   [45CSR§30-5.1.c] (E10) 

 

       4.3.      Testing Requirements 

 

4.3.1. For the purpose of demonstrating compliance with the hourly emission limits set forth in Section 4.1.2 of this 

permit, the permittee shall conduct annual emissions testing for NOX and CO emissions released from engines 

No.7 through No. 9 (emission points E07 through E09) using portable emissions analyzers. 

 

Upon utilization of the air-to-fuel ratio monitoring established in Section 4.2.2 of permit R14-0013FR14-

0013E, periodic emissions testing shall be performed once every five (5) years.  This periodic testing may be 

performed using portable emissions analyzers. 

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.1] (E07, E08, E09) 

 

4.3.2. In addition to the NOx performance testing as required under 40 CFR 60, Subpart KKKK, within 60 days 

after achieving full load, but not later than 180 days after initial startup, and at such times thereafter as may 

be required by the Director, the permittee shall conduct, or have conducted, a performance test on each turbine 

to determine compliance with the “normal load” CO emission limit specified under Table 4.1.5(b) and (c) 

and in accordance with 3.3.1.  The permittee shall use an appropriate EPA-approved test method as given 

under 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and approved in writing by the Director in a protocol submitted pursuant to 
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3.3.1(c).  The testing shall take place while the engines are operating at “normal load” as defined under 

4.2.3(a) and 4.2.4(a).  

 [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.2] (T01- T04) 

4.3.3. In addition to the NOx performance testing as required under 40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart KKKK, within 60 days 

after achieving full load, but not later than 180 days after initial startup, and at such times thereafter as may 

be required by the Director, the permittee shall conduct, or have conducted, a performance test on one (1) of 

the Solar Mars turbines (T03, T04) to determine compliance with the particulate matter emission limit 

(including condensables) specified under Table 4.1.5(c) and in accordance with 3.3.1.  The permittee shall 

use an appropriate EPA-approved test method for particulate matter including condensables.  The permittee 

shall submit a testing protocol pursuant to 3.3.1(c). The testing shall take place while the engines are 

operating at “normal load” as defined under 4.2.3(a) and 4.2.4(a).  

 [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.3] (T01 - T04) 

 

4.3.4. Compliance with the NOX and CO emission limits set forth in R14-0013FR14-0013E, condition 4.1.3, shall 

be determined by conducting an emissions stack test of the Clark TLAD-10 engine identified as Source E10, 

at least once during the Title V permit term, but, at least 180 days prior to the Title V permit expiration. 

[45CSR§30-5.1.c] (E10) 

 

4.4.     Recordkeeping Requirements 

 
          4.4.1.  Record of Maintenance of Air Pollution Control Equipment.  For all pollution control equipment listed 

in Section 1.0, the permittee shall maintain accurate records of all required pollution control equipment 

inspection and/or preventative maintenance procedures.  

[45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.4.2] (E11) 

 

   4.4.2. Record of Malfunctions of Air Pollution Control Equipment.  For all air pollution control equipment listed 

in Section 1.0, the permittee shall maintain records of the occurrence and duration of any malfunction or 

operational shutdown of the air pollution control equipment during which excess emissions occur.  For each 

such case, the following information shall be recorded: 

 

  a. The equipment involved. 

 

  b. Steps taken to minimize emissions during the event. 

 

  c. The duration of the event. 

 

  d. The estimated increase in emissions during the event. 

 

For each such case associated with an equipment malfunction, the additional information shall also be 

recorded: 

 

  e. The cause of the malfunction. 

 

  f. Steps taken to correct the malfunction. 

 

g.        Any changes or modifications to equipment or procedures that would help prevent future  

              recurrences of the malfunction. 

 

  [45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.4.3] (E11) 

 

     4.4.3. If recordkeeping is not already required by a state rule, federal regulation, 45CSR13 or 45CSR14 permit, or 

consent order to demonstrate compliance with the emission limits for NOx, CO, VOC, SO2, PM, PM10 and/or 

applicable HAPs, the permittee shall maintain a record of equipment fuel consumption and/or bhp-hrs developed 
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and hours of operation for all the Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines, Emergency Generators & 

Combustion Turbines.  If a monitoring timeframe is not already established, a twelve month rolling total shall 

be maintained to verify compliance with the long term emission limitations.  Each calendar month a new twelve 

month total shall be calculated using the previous twelve months data.  If a monitoring timeframe is not already 

established and there are hourly emission limits, monthly records indicating the hourly average emissions shall 

be available for a period of no less than five (5) years. If a monitoring timeframe is not already established and 

there are yearly emission limits, records indicating the twelve month rolling total emissions shall be available 

for a period of no less than five (5) years. Upon request by the Secretary the records will be certified by the 

responsible official. 

  [45CSR§30-5.1.c] (E10) 

 

4.5.     Reporting Requirements 

 

4.5.1.  N/A 

 

4.6.     Compliance Plan 

 

4.6.1. N/A 
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     5.0. Miscellaneous Indirect Natural Gas Heaters and Boilers less than 10 MMBtu/hr [BL2, HTR2, 

HTR3, HTR4, HTR5]  

 

5.1.      Limitations and Standards 

   

5.1.1. No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit emission of smoke and/or particulate matter into the open air 

from any fuel burning unit which is greater than ten (10) percent opacity based on a six minute block average.  

  [45CSR§2-3.1; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.6(i)(h)]  

 

5.1.2.    Compliance with the visible emission requirements of 45CSR§2-3.1 (Section 5.1.1 of this permit) shall be 

determined in accordance with 40 C.F.R. Part 60, Appendix A, Method 9 or by using measurements from 

continuous opacity monitoring systems approved by the Director.  The Director may require the installation, 

calibration, maintenance and operation of continuous opacity monitoring systems and may establish policies 

for the evaluation of continuous opacity monitoring results and the determination of compliance with the 

visible emission requirements of 45CSR§2-3.1 (Section 5.1.1 of this permit).  Continuous opacity monitors 

shall not be required on fuel burning units which employ wet scrubbing systems for emission control. 

[45CSR§2-3.2.] 

 

5.2.      Monitoring Requirements 

 

5.2.1. At such reasonable times as the Secretary may designate, the permittee shall conduct visible emissions 

observations using Method 22 for the purpose of demonstrating compliance with Section 5.1.1.  If visible 

emissions are observed, the permittee shall conduct a Method 9 reading unless the cause for visible emissions 

is corrected within 24 hours.  Records of observation will be kept for at least 5 years from the date of 

observation. 
[45CSR§30-5.1.c] 

 

5.3.     Testing Requirements 

 

5.3.1.  N/A 

 

5.4.     Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

5.4.1.  N/A 

 

5.5.     Reporting Requirements 

 

5.5.1. N/A 

   

5.6.     Compliance Plan 

 

5.6.1. N/A 

 

 



Title V Operating Permit R30-03100002-2023 (MM01) Page 32 of 7877 

Columbia Gas Transmission, LLC  •  Lost River Compressor Station 
 

 
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection  •  Division of Air Quality 

Approved:  August 8, 2023  •  Modified:  February 21, 2024 

     6.0. 40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart JJJJ Requirements for Reciprocating Internal Combustion 

Engines (RICE) [emission point ID(s):  E11] 
 

6.1.    Limitations and Standards 

 

6.1.1. §60.4233   What emission standards must I meet if I am an owner or operator of a stationary SI internal 

combustion engine? 

 

(e) Owners and operators of stationary SI ICE with a maximum engine power greater than or equal to 75 KW 

(100 HP) (except gasoline and rich burn engines that use LPG) must comply with the emission standards in 

Table 1 to this subpart for their stationary SI ICE. For owners and operators of stationary SI ICE with a 

maximum engine power greater than or equal to 100 HP (except gasoline and rich burn engines that use LPG) 

manufactured prior to January 1, 2011 that were certified to the certification emission standards in 40 CFR 

part 1048 applicable to engines that are not severe duty engines, if such stationary SI ICE was certified to a 

carbon monoxide (CO) standard above the standard in Table 1 to this subpart, then the owners and operators 

may meet the CO certification (not field testing) standard for which the engine was certified. 

   

Table 1 to Subpart JJJJ of Part 60—NOX, CO, and VOC Emission Standards for Stationary Non-

Emergency SI Engines ≥100 HP (Except Gasoline and Rich Burn LPG), Stationary SI 

Landfill/Digester Gas Engines, and Stationary Emergency Engines >25 HP 

 

Engine type 

and fuel 

Maximum 

engine 

power 

Manufacture 

date 

Emission standardsa 

g/HP-hr ppmvd at 15% O2 

NOX CO VOCd NOX CO VOCd 

Non-Emergency SI Natural 

Gas and Non-Emergency SI 

Lean Burn LPG (except lean 

burn 500≤HP<1,350) 

    HP≥500 7/1/2007 2.0 4.0 1.0 160 540 86 

aOwners and operators of stationary non-certified SI engines may choose to comply with the emission 

standards in units of either g/HP-hr or ppmvd at 15 percent O2. 

dFor purposes of this subpart, when calculating emissions of volatile organic compounds, emissions of 

formaldehyde should not be included. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4233(e) and Table 1 (line 5); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.2.6(c)] (E11) 

 

§60.4234   How long must I meet the emission standards if I am an owner or operator of a stationary SI 

internal combustion engine? 

 

Owners and operators of stationary SI ICE must operate and maintain stationary SI ICE that achieve the 

emission standards as required in 40 C.F.R.§60.4233 over the entire life of the engine. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4234 and 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.2.6(c)] (E11) 
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§60.4243   What are my compliance requirements if I am an owner or operator of a stationary SI internal 

combustion engine? 

 

(b) If you are an owner or operator of a stationary SI internal combustion engine and must comply with the 

emission standards specified in 40 C.F.R. §60.4233(d) or (e), you must demonstrate compliance according 

to one of the methods specified in paragraphs (b)(1) and (2) of this section. 

 

(2) Purchasing a non-certified engine and demonstrating compliance with the emission standards 

specified in 40 C.F.R. §60.4233(d) or (e) and according to the requirements specified in §60.4244, 

as applicable, and according to paragraphs (b)(2)(i) and (ii) of this section. 

 

(ii) If you are an owner or operator of a stationary SI internal combustion engine greater than 500 

HP, you must keep a maintenance plan and records of conducted maintenance and must, to the 

extent practicable, maintain and operate the engine in a manner consistent with good air pollution 

control practice for minimizing emissions. In addition, you must conduct an initial performance test 

and conduct subsequent performance testing every 8,760 hours or 3 years, whichever comes first, 

thereafter to demonstrate compliance. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4243(b)(2)(ii) and 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.2.6(c)] (E11) 

 

 

§60.4246   What parts of the General Provisions apply to me? 

 

Table 3 to this subpart shows which parts of the General Provisions in 40 C.F.R. §§60.1 through 60.19 apply 

to you. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R.§60.4246 and 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.2.6(c)] (E11) 

 

 

6.2.      Monitoring Requirements 

 

        6.2.1. N/A 

 

 

6.3.     Testing Requirements 

 

6.3.1.  §60.4244   What test methods and other procedures must I use if I am an owner or operator of a stationary   

SI internal combustion engine?  

Owners and operators of stationary SI ICE who conduct performance tests must follow the procedures in 

paragraphs (a) through (f) of this section. 

(a) Each performance test must be conducted within 10 percent of 100 percent peak (or the highest 

achievable) load and according to the requirements in §60.8 and under the specific conditions that are 

specified by Table 2 to this subpart. 

(b) You may not conduct performance tests during periods of startup, shutdown, or malfunction, as 

specified in §60.8(c). If your stationary SI internal combustion engine is non-operational, you do not need 

to startup the engine solely to conduct a performance test; however, you must conduct the performance test 

immediately upon startup of the engine. 
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(c) You must conduct three separate test runs for each performance test required in this section, as specified 

in §60.8(f). Each test run must be conducted within 10 percent of 100 percent peak (or the highest 

achievable) load and last at least 1 hour. 

(d) To determine compliance with the NOX mass per unit output emission limitation, convert the 

concentration of NOX in the engine exhaust using Equation 1 of this section: 

 

Where: 

ER = Emission rate of NOX in g/HP-hr. 

Cd = Measured NOX concentration in parts per million by volume (ppmv). 

1.912 × 10−3 = Conversion constant for ppm NOX to grams per standard cubic meter at 20 degrees 

Celsius. 

Q = Stack gas volumetric flow rate, in standard cubic meter per hour, dry basis. 

T = Time of test run, in hours. 

HP-hr = Brake work of the engine, horsepower-hour (HP-hr). 

(e) To determine compliance with the CO mass per unit output emission limitation, convert the 

concentration of CO in the engine exhaust using Equation 2 of this section: 

 

Where: 

ER = Emission rate of CO in g/HP-hr. 

Cd = Measured CO concentration in ppmv. 

1.164 × 10−3 = Conversion constant for ppm CO to grams per standard cubic meter at 20 degrees 

Celsius. 

Q = Stack gas volumetric flow rate, in standard cubic meters per hour, dry basis. 

T = Time of test run, in hours. 

HP-hr = Brake work of the engine, in HP-hr. 

(f) For purposes of this subpart, when calculating emissions of VOC, emissions of formaldehyde should not 

be included. To determine compliance with the VOC mass per unit output emission limitation, convert the 

concentration of VOC in the engine exhaust using Equation 3 of this section: 
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Where: 

ER = Emission rate of VOC in g/HP-hr. 

Cd = VOC concentration measured as propane in ppmv. 

1.833 × 10−3 = Conversion constant for ppm VOC measured as propane, to grams per standard 

cubic meter at 20 degrees Celsius. 

Q = Stack gas volumetric flow rate, in standard cubic meters per hour, dry basis. 

T = Time of test run, in hours. 

HP-hr = Brake work of the engine, in HP-hr. 

(g) If the owner/operator chooses to measure VOC emissions using either Method 18 of 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A, or Method 320 of 40 CFR part 63, appendix A, then it has the option of correcting the measured 

VOC emissions to account for the potential differences in measured values between these methods and 

Method 25A. The results from Method 18 and Method 320 can be corrected for response factor differences 

using Equations 4 and 5 of this section. The corrected VOC concentration can then be placed on a propane 

basis using Equation 6 of this section. 

                                CMi      

                    RFi = --------     (Eq. 4) 

                      CAi 

Where: 

RFi = Response factor of compound i when measured with EPA Method 25A. 

CMi = Measured concentration of compound i in ppmv as carbon. 

CAi = True concentration of compound i in ppmv as carbon. 

 

                 Cicorr = RFi x Cimeas    (Eq. 5) 

Where:  

Cicorr = Concentration of compound i corrected to the value that would have been measured by 

EPA Method 25A, ppmv as carbon. 

Cimeas = Concentration of compound i measured by EPA Method 320, ppmv as carbon. 

 

   CPeq = 0.6098 x Cicorr   (Eq. 6) 

Where: 

CPeq = Concentration of compound i in mg of propane equivalent per DSCM. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4244; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.3.4(b)] (E11) 
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6.4.     Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

      

 6.4.1.  §60.4245   What are my notification, reporting, and recordkeeping requirements if I am an owner or operator 

of a stationary SI internal combustion engine? 

Owners or operators of stationary SI ICE must meet the following notification, reporting and recordkeeping 

requirements. 

(a) Owners and operators of all stationary SI ICE must keep records of the information in paragraphs (a)(1) 

through (4) of this section. 

(1) All notifications submitted to comply with this subpart and all documentation supporting any 

notification. 

(2) Maintenance conducted on the engine. 

(4) If the stationary SI internal combustion engine is not a certified engine or is a certified engine 

operating in a non-certified manner and subject to 40 C.F.R.§60.4243(a)(2), documentation that the 

engine meets the emission standards. 

(c) Owners and operators of stationary SI ICE greater than or equal to 500 HP that have not been certified by 

an engine manufacturer to meet the emission standards in 40 C.F.R.§60.4231 must submit an initial 

notification as required in 40 C.F.R.§60.7(a)(1). The notification must include the information in paragraphs 

(c)(1) through (5) of the 40 C.F.R.§60.4245. 

(1) Name and address of the owner or operator; 

(2) The address of the affected source; 

(3) Engine information including make, model, engine family, serial number, model year, 

maximum engine power, and engine displacement; 

(4) Emission control equipment; and 

(5) Fuel used. 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §§60.4245(a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(4) and (c); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.4.4] 

(E11) 

 

 

6.5.     Reporting Requirements 

6.5.1. §60.4245   What are my notification, reporting, and recordkeeping requirements if I am an owner or operator 

of a stationary SI internal combustion engine? 

(d) Owners and operators of stationary SI ICE that are subject to performance testing must submit a copy of each 

performance test as conducted in §60.4244 within 60 days after the test has been completed. Performance test 

reports using EPA Method 18, EPA Method 320, or ASTM D6348-03 (incorporated by reference—see 40 CFR 

60.17) to measure VOC require reporting of all QA/QC data. For Method 18, report results from sections 8.4 and 
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11.1.1.4; for Method 320, report results from sections 8.6.2, 9.0, and 13.0; and for ASTM D6348-03 report results 

of all QA/QC procedures in Annexes 1-7. 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4245(d); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(g) and 4.5.1] (E11) 

 

 

6.6.     Compliance Plan 

 
6.6.1.    N/A
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7.0.      40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart KKKK Requirements for Turbines [emission point ID(s): T01, T02, T03, T04] 

 

7.1.     Limitations and Standards 

 

7.1.1. §60.4320   What emission limits must I meet for nitrogen oxides (NOX)? 

  (a) You must meet the emission limits for NOX specified in Table 1 to 40 C.F.R. 60 Subpart KKKK. 

Table 1 to Subpart KKKK of Part 60—Nitrogen Oxide Emission Limits for New Stationary Combustion 

Turbines 

 

 Combustion 

turbine type 

Combustion turbine heat input at 

peak load (HHV) NOX emission standard 

New turbine firing 

natural gas 

> 50 MMBtu/h and ≤ 850 MMBtu/h 25 ppm at 15 percent O2 or 150 ng/J of useful 

output (1.2 lb/MWh). 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4320(a) and Table 1 (line 3); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.5(d) and 4.2.6(d)]  

 

§60.4330   What emission limits must I meet for sulfur dioxide (SO2)? 

(a) If your turbine is located in a continental area, you must comply with either paragraph (a)(1), (a)(2) or (a)(3) 

of 40 C.F.R. §60.4330. If your turbine is located in Alaska, you do not have to comply with the requirements in 

paragraph (a) of this section until January 1, 2008. 

(2) You must not burn in the subject stationary combustion turbine any fuel which contains total potential 

sulfur emissions in excess of 26 ng SO2/J (0.060 lb SO2/MMBtu) heat input. If your turbine simultaneously 

fires multiple fuels, each fuel must meet this requirement. 

 

 [45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4330(a)(2); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.5(d) and 4.2.6(d)]  

 

      §60.4333   What are my general requirements for complying with this subpart? 

 

(a) You must operate and maintain your stationary combustion turbine, air pollution control equipment, and 

monitoring equipment in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions 

at all times including during startup, shutdown, and malfunction. 

      [45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4333(a); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(d)] 

 

7.2.     Monitoring Requirements 

 

7.2.1. §60.4360   How do I determine the total sulfur content of the turbine's combustion fuel? 

 

You must monitor the total sulfur content of the fuel being fired in the turbine, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. 

§60.4365. The sulfur content of the fuel must be determined using total sulfur methods described in 40 C.F.R. 

§60.4415. Alternatively, if the total sulfur content of the gaseous fuel during the most recent performance test 

was less than half the applicable limit, ASTM D4084, D4810, D5504, or D6228, or Gas Processors Association 

Standard 2377 (all of which are incorporated by reference, see 40 C.F.R. §60.17), which measure the major sulfur 

compounds, may be used. 

                     [45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4360; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(d)] 
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§60.4365   How can I be exempted from monitoring the total sulfur content of the fuel? 

You may elect not to monitor the total sulfur content of the fuel combusted in the turbine, if the fuel is 

demonstrated not to exceed potential sulfur emissions of 26 ng SO2/J (0.060 lb SO2/MMBtu) heat input for 

units located in continental areas and 180 ng SO2/J (0.42 lb SO2/MMBtu) heat input for units located in 

noncontinental areas or a continental area that the Administrator determines does not have access to natural 

gas and that the removal of sulfur compounds would cause more environmental harm than benefit. You must 

use one of the following sources of information to make the required demonstration: 

(a) The fuel quality characteristics in a current, valid purchase contract, tariff sheet or transportation contract 

for the fuel, specifying that the maximum total sulfur content for oil use in continental areas is 0.05 weight 

percent (500 ppmw) or less and 0.4 weight percent (4,000 ppmw) or less for noncontinental areas, the total 

sulfur content for natural gas use in continental areas is 20 grains of sulfur or less per 100 standard cubic feet 

and 140 grains of sulfur or less per 100 standard cubic feet for noncontinental areas, has potential sulfur 

emissions of less than 26 ng SO2/J (0.060 lb SO2/MMBtu) heat input for continental areas and has potential 

sulfur emissions of less than 180 ng SO2/J (0.42 lb SO2/MMBtu) heat input for noncontinental areas. 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4365(a); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(d)] 

 

§60.4370   How often must I determine the sulfur content of the fuel? 

The frequency of determining the sulfur content of the fuel must be as follows: 

 (b) Gaseous fuel. If you elect not to demonstrate sulfur content using options in 40 C.F.R.§60.4365, and 

the fuel is supplied without intermediate bulk storage, the sulfur content value of the gaseous fuel must be 

determined and recorded once per unit operating day. 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4370(b); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(d)] 

 

 

7.3.     Testing Requirements 

 

7.3.1. §60.4340   How do I demonstrate continuous compliance for NOX if I do not use water or steam 

injection? 

 
(a) If you are not using water or steam injection to control NOX emissions, you must perform annual 

performance tests in accordance with 40 C.F.R. §60.4400 to demonstrate continuous compliance. If the NOX 

emission result from the performance test is less than or equal to 75 percent of the NOX emission limit for 

the turbine, you may reduce the frequency of subsequent performance tests to once every 2 years (no more 

than 26 calendar months following the previous performance test). If the results of any subsequent 

performance test exceed 75 percent of the NOX emission limit for the turbine, you must resume annual 

performance tests. 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4340(a); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(d)] 

 

 

§60.4400   How do I conduct the initial and subsequent performance tests, regarding NOX? 

(a) You must conduct an initial performance test, as required in 40 C.F.R. §60.8. Subsequent NOX 

performance tests shall be conducted on an annual basis (no more than 14 calendar months following the 

previous performance test). 
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(1) There are two general methodologies that you may use to conduct the performance tests. For 

each test run: 

(i) Measure the NOX concentration (in parts per million (ppm)), using EPA Method 7E or 

EPA Method 20 in appendix A of this part. For units complying with the output based 

standard, concurrently measure the stack gas flow rate, using EPA Methods 1 and 2 in 

appendix A of this part, and measure and record the electrical and thermal output from the 

unit. Then, use the following equation to calculate the NOX emission rate: 

 

Where: 

E = NOX emission rate, in lb/MWh  

1.194 × 10−7 = conversion constant, in lb/dscf-ppm  

(NOX)c = average NOX concentration for the run, in ppm  

Qstd = stack gas volumetric flow rate, in dscf/hr  

P = gross electrical and mechanical energy output of the combustion turbine, in MW (for 

simple-cycle operation), for combined-cycle operation, the sum of all electrical and 

mechanical output from the combustion and steam turbines, or, for combined heat and 

power operation, the sum of all electrical and mechanical output from the combustion and 

steam turbines plus all useful recovered thermal output not used for additional electric or 

mechanical generation, in MW, calculated according to 40 C.F.R.§60.4350(f)(2); or 

(ii) Measure the NOX and diluent gas concentrations, using either EPA Methods 7E and 

3A, or EPA Method 20 in appendix A of this part. Concurrently measure the heat input to 

the unit, using a fuel flowmeter (or flowmeters), and measure the electrical and thermal 

output of the unit. Use EPA Method 19 in appendix A of this part to calculate the NOX 

emission rate in lb/MMBtu. Then, use Equations 1 and, if necessary, 2 and 3 in 40 

C.F.R.§60.4350(f) to calculate the NOX emission rate in lb/MWh. 

(2) Sampling traverse points for NOX and (if applicable) diluent gas are to be selected following 

EPA Method 20 or EPA Method 1 (non-particulate procedures), and sampled for equal time 

intervals. The sampling must be performed with a traversing single-hole probe, or, if feasible, with 

a stationary multi-hole probe that samples each of the points sequentially. Alternatively, a multi-

hole probe designed and documented to sample equal volumes from each hole may be used to 

sample simultaneously at the required points. 

(3) Notwithstanding paragraph (a)(2) of this section, you may test at fewer points than are specified 

in EPA Method 1 or EPA Method 20 in appendix A of this part if the following conditions are met: 

(i) You may perform a stratification test for NOX and diluent pursuant to 

(A) [Reserved], or 

(B) The procedures specified in section 6.5.6.1(a) through (e) of appendix A of 

part 75 of this chapter. 
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(ii) Once the stratification sampling is completed, you may use the following alternative 

sample point selection criteria for the performance test: 

(A) If each of the individual traverse point NOX concentrations is within ±10 

percent of the mean concentration for all traverse points, or the individual traverse 

point diluent concentrations differs by no more than ±5ppm or ±0.5 percent CO2 

(or O2) from the mean for all traverse points, then you may use three points 

(located either 16.7, 50.0 and 83.3 percent of the way across the stack or duct, or, 

for circular stacks or ducts greater than 2.4 meters (7.8 feet) in diameter, at 0.4, 

1.2, and 2.0 meters from the wall). The three points must be located along the 

measurement line that exhibited the highest average NOX concentration during 

the stratification test; or 

(B) For turbines with a NOX standard greater than 15 ppm @ 15% O2, you may 

sample at a single point, located at least 1 meter from the stack wall or at the stack 

centroid if each of the individual traverse point NOX concentrations is within ±5 

percent of the mean concentration for all traverse points, or the individual traverse 

point diluent concentrations differs by no more than ±3ppm or ±0.3 percent CO2 

(or O2) from the mean for all traverse points; or 

(C) For turbines with a NOX standard less than or equal to 15 ppm @ 15% O2, 

you may sample at a single point, located at least 1 meter from the stack wall or 

at the stack centroid if each of the individual traverse point NOX concentrations is 

within ±2.5 percent of the mean concentration for all traverse points, or the 

individual traverse point diluent concentrations differs by no more than ±1ppm or 

±0.15 percent CO2 (or O2) from the mean for all traverse points. 

(b) The performance test must be done at any load condition within plus or minus 25 percent of 100 percent 

of peak load. You may perform testing at the highest achievable load point, if at least 75 percent of peak load 

cannot be achieved in practice. You must conduct three separate test runs for each performance test. The 

minimum time per run is 20 minutes. 

(1) If the stationary combustion turbine combusts both oil and gas as primary or backup fuels, 

separate performance testing is required for each fuel. 

(2) For a combined cycle and CHP turbine systems with supplemental heat (duct burner), you must 

measure the total NOX emissions after the duct burner rather than directly after the turbine. The duct 

burner must be in operation during the performance test. 

(3) If water or steam injection is used to control NOX with no additional post-combustion NOX 

control and you choose to monitor the steam or water to fuel ratio in accordance with 40 

C.F.R.§60.4335, then that monitoring system must be operated concurrently with each EPA Method 

20 or EPA Method 7E run and must be used to determine the fuel consumption and the steam or 

water to fuel ratio necessary to comply with the applicable 40 C.F.R. §60.4320 NOX emission limit. 

(4) Compliance with the applicable emission limit in 40 C.F.R. §60.4320 must be demonstrated at 

each tested load level. Compliance is achieved if the three-run arithmetic average NOX emission 

rate at each tested level meets the applicable emission limit in 40 C.F.R.§60.4320. 

(5) If you elect to install a CEMS, the performance evaluation of the CEMS may either be conducted 

separately or (as described in the 40 C.F.R.§ 60.4405) as part of the initial performance test of the 

affected unit. 
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(6) The ambient temperature must be greater than 0 °F during the performance test. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4400; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.4(c)] 

 

7.4.     Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

7.4.1. N/A 

 

7.5.     Reporting Requirements 

 

7.5.1. §60.4375   What reports must I submit? 

(a) For each affected unit required to continuously monitor parameters or emissions, or to periodically 

determine the fuel sulfur content under this subpart, you must submit reports of excess emissions and monitor 

downtime, in accordance with 40 C.F.R. §60.7(c). Excess emissions must be reported for all periods of unit 

operation, including start-up, shutdown, and malfunction. 

(b) For each affected unit that performs annual performance tests in accordance with the  40 C.F.R. 

§60.4340(a), you must submit a written report of the results of each performance test before the close of 

business on the 60th day following the completion of the performance test. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4375; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(d)] 

 

§60.4395   When must I submit my reports? 

 
All reports required under 40 C.F.R.§60.7(c) must be postmarked by the 30th day following the end of each 

6-month period. 

 

[45CSR16, 40 C.F.R. §60.4395; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(d)] 

 

 

7.6.         Compliance Plan 

 

7.6.1.    N/A
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8.0.      40 C.F.R. 63, Subpart ZZZZ MACT Requirements for Reciprocating Internal  

Combustion Engines at Major HAP Sources [emission point ID(s): G3, E11] 
 

       8.1.     Limitations and Standards 

 

8.1.1. §63.6600   What emission limitations and operating limitations must I meet if I own or operate a stationary 

RICE with a site rating of more than 500 brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions? 

Compliance with the numerical emission limitations established in this subpart is based on the results of 

testing the average of three 1-hour runs using the testing requirements and procedures in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.6620 and Table 4 to 40 C.F.R 63 Subpart ZZZZ. 

 (b) If you own or operate a new or reconstructed 2SLB stationary RICE with a site rating of more than 500 

brake HP located at major source of HAP emissions, a new or reconstructed 4SLB stationary RICE with a 

site rating of more than 500 brake HP located at major source of HAP emissions, you must comply with the 

emission limitations in Table 2a to 40 C.F.R 63 Subpart ZZZZ and the operating limitations in Table 2b to 

40 C.F.R. 63 Subpart ZZZZ which apply to you. 

Table 2a to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Emission Limitations for New and Reconstructed 2SLB and 

Compression Ignition Stationary RICE >500 HP and New and Reconstructed 4SLB Stationary RICE 

≥250 HP Located at a Major Source of HAP Emissions 

As stated in 40 C.F.R. §§63.6600 and 63.6640, you must comply with the following emission limitations for 

new and reconstructed lean burn and new and reconstructed compression ignition stationary RICE at 100 

percent load plus or minus 10 percent: 

For each .  .  . 

You must meet the following emission 

limitation, except during periods of 

startup .  .  . During periods of startup you must .  .  . 

2. 4SLB 

stationary RICE 

[E11] 

    

a. Reduce CO emissions by 93 percent or 

more; or 

Minimize the engine's time spent at idle and 

minimize the engine's startup time at startup to 

a period needed for appropriate and safe 

loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 

minutes, after which time the non-startup 

emission limitations apply.1 

b. Limit concentration of formaldehyde in 

the stationary RICE exhaust to 14 ppmvd or 

less at 15 percent O2 

1Sources can petition the Administrator pursuant to the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §63.6(g) for alternative work 

practices. 

Table 2b to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Operating Limitations for New and Reconstructed 2SLB and 

CI Stationary RICE >500 HP Located at a Major Source of HAP Emissions, New and Reconstructed 

4SLB Stationary RICE ≥250 HP Located at a Major Source of HAP Emissions, Existing CI 

Stationary RICE >500 HP  

 
As stated in 40 C.F.R. §§63.6600, 63.6601, 63.6603, 63.6630, and 63.6640, you must comply with the 

following operating limitations for new and reconstructed 4SLB stationary RICE ≥250 HP located at a 

major source of HAP emissions: 
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For each .  .  . 

You must meet the following operating 

limitation, except during periods of startup 

.  .  . 

1. New and reconstructed 4SLB stationary RICE ≥250 HP 

located at a major source of HAP emissions complying with the 

requirement to reduce CO emissions and using an oxidation 

catalyst [E11]; and  

 

New and reconstructed 4SLB stationary RICE ≥250 HP located 

at a major source of HAP emissions complying with the 

requirement to limit the concentration of formaldehyde in the 

stationary RICE exhaust and using an oxidation catalyst. [E11] 

a. maintain your catalyst so that the pressure 

drop across the catalyst does not change by more 

than 2 inches of water at 100 percent load plus 

or minus 10 percent from the pressure drop 

across the catalyst that was measured during the 

initial performance test; and 

b. maintain the temperature of your stationary 

RICE exhaust so that the catalyst inlet 

temperature is greater than or equal to 450 °F 

and less than or equal to 1350 °F.1 
1Sources can petition the Administrator pursuant to the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 63.8(f) for a different temperature 

range. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6600(b), Tables 2a (line 2) and 2b (line 1); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.4(d), (e) 

and 4.2.6(b)] (E11) 

 

(c) If you own or operate any of the following stationary RICE with a site rating of more than 500 brake HP 

located at a major source of HAP emissions, you do not need to comply with the emission limitations in 

Tables 1a, 2a, 2c, and 2d to 40 C.F.R. 63 Subpart ZZZZ or operating limitations in Tables 1b and 2b to 40 

C.F.R. 63 Subpart ZZZZ: an emergency stationary RICE.  

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6600(c)] (G3) 

 

 

§63.6605   What are my general requirements for complying with this subpart? 

(a) You must be in compliance with the emission limitations, operating limitations, and other requirements 

in this subpart that apply to you at all times. 

(b) At all times you must operate and maintain any affected source, including associated air pollution control 

equipment and monitoring equipment, in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control 

practices for minimizing emissions. The general duty to minimize emissions does not require you to make 

any further efforts to reduce emissions if levels required by this standard have been achieved. Determination 

of whether such operation and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available 

to the Administrator which may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, review of operation and 

maintenance procedures, review of operation and maintenance records, and inspection of the source. 

  [45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6605; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(a) and (b)] (E11, G3) 

 

 

8.2.     Monitoring Requirements 

 

8.2.1.     §63.6625   What are my monitoring, installation, collection, operation, and maintenance requirements? 

(b) If you are required to install a continuous parameter monitoring system (CPMS) as specified in Table 5 

of this subpart, you must install, operate, and maintain each CPMS according to the requirements in 

paragraphs (b)(1) through (6) of 40 C.F.R §63.6625. For an affected source that is complying with the 
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emission limitations and operating limitations on March 9, 2011, the requirements in paragraph (b) of 40 

C.F.R. §63.6625 are applicable September 6, 2011. 

(1) You must prepare a site-specific monitoring plan that addresses the monitoring system design, 

data collection, and the quality assurance and quality control elements outlined in paragraphs 

(b)(1)(i) through (v) of 40 C.F.R §63.6625 and in 40 C.F.R §63.8(d). As specified in 40 C.F.R 

§63.8(f)(4), you may request approval of monitoring system quality assurance and quality control 

procedures alternative to those specified in paragraphs (b)(1) through (5) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6625 in 

your site-specific monitoring plan. 

(i) The performance criteria and design specifications for the monitoring system 

equipment, including the sample interface, detector signal analyzer, and data acquisition 

and calculations; 

(ii) Sampling interface (e.g., thermocouple) location such that the monitoring system will 

provide representative measurements; 

(iii) Equipment performance evaluations, system accuracy audits, or other audit 

procedures; 

(iv) Ongoing operation and maintenance procedures in accordance with provisions in 40 

C.F.R §63.8(c)(1)(ii) and (c)(3); and 

(v) Ongoing reporting and recordkeeping procedures in accordance with provisions in 40 

C.F.R §63.10(c), (e)(1), and (e)(2)(i). 

(2) You must install, operate, and maintain each CPMS in continuous operation according to the 

procedures in your site-specific monitoring plan. 

(3) The CPMS must collect data at least once every 15 minutes (see also 40 C.F.R §63.6635). 

(4) For a CPMS for measuring temperature range, the temperature sensor must have a minimum 

tolerance of 2.8 degrees Celsius (5 degrees Fahrenheit) or 1 percent of the measurement range, 

whichever is larger. 

(5) You must conduct the CPMS equipment performance evaluation, system accuracy audits, or 

other audit procedures specified in your site-specific monitoring plan at least annually. 

(6) You must conduct a performance evaluation of each CPMS in accordance with your site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

 

(h) If you operate a new, reconstructed, or existing stationary engine, you must minimize the engine's time 

spent at idle during startup and minimize the engine's startup time to a period needed for appropriate and safe 

loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 minutes, after which time the emission standards applicable to all 

times other than startup in Tables 1a, 2a, 2c, and 2d to 40 C.F.R.63 Subpart ZZZZ apply. 

  [45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6625(b) and (h); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.4(a)] (E11) 
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§63.6630   How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission limitations, operating 

limitations, and other requirements? 

(a) You must demonstrate initial compliance with each emission limitation, operating limitation, and other 

requirement that applies to you according to Table 5 of 40 C.F.R.63 Subpart ZZZZ. 

(b) During the initial performance test, you must establish each operating limitation in Tables 1b and 2b of 

40 C.F.R.63 Subpart ZZZZ that applies to you. 

(c) You must submit the Notification of Compliance Status containing the results of the initial compliance 

demonstration according to the requirements in 40 C.F.R §63.6645. 

 
Table 5 to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Initial Compliance With Emission Limitations, Operating Limitations, 

and Other Requirements 

 
As stated in 40 C.F.R §§63.6612, 63.6625 and 63.6630, you must initially comply with the emission and operating 

limitations as required by the following: 

For each .  .  . 

Complying with the 

requirement to .  .  . You have demonstrated initial compliance if .  .  . 

1. New or reconstructed non-

emergency 4SLB stationary RICE 

≥250 HP located at a major source 

of HAP [E11] 

a. Reduce CO emissions 

and using oxidation 

catalyst, and using a CPMS 

i. The average reduction of emissions of CO determined 

from the initial performance test achieves the required CO 

percent reduction; and 

ii. You have installed a CPMS to continuously monitor 

catalyst inlet temperature according to the requirements in 

40 C.F.R §63.6625(b); and 

iii. You have recorded the catalyst pressure drop and 

catalyst inlet temperature during the initial performance 

test. 

9. New or reconstructed non-

emergency stationary RICE >500 

HP located at a major source of HAP 

[E11] 

    

a. Limit the concentration 

of formaldehyde in the 

stationary RICE exhaust 

and using oxidation catalyst 

or NSCR 

    

i. The average formaldehyde concentration, corrected to 

15 percent O2, dry basis, from the three test runs is less 

than or equal to the formaldehyde emission limitation; and 

ii. You have installed a CPMS to continuously monitor 

catalyst inlet temperature according to the requirements in 

40 C.F.R §63.6625(b); and 

iii. You have recorded the catalyst pressure drop and 

catalyst inlet temperature during the initial performance 

test. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6630(a) through (c), Table 5 (lines 1 and 9); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.4(a)] 

(E11) 

 

§63.6635   How do I monitor and collect data to demonstrate continuous compliance? 

(a) If you must comply with emission and operating limitations, you must monitor and collect data 

according to this section. 

(b) Except for monitor malfunctions, associated repairs, required performance evaluations, and required 

quality assurance or control activities, you must monitor continuously at all times that the stationary RICE is 
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operating. A monitoring malfunction is any sudden, infrequent, not reasonably preventable failure of the 

monitoring to provide valid data. Monitoring failures that are caused in part by poor maintenance or careless 

operation are not malfunctions. 

(c) You may not use data recorded during monitoring malfunctions, associated repairs, and required quality 

assurance or control activities in data averages and calculations used to report emission or operating levels. 

You must, however, use all the valid data collected during all other periods. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6635; 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(b)] (E11) 

 

§63.6640   How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission limitations, operating 

limitations, and other requirements? 

(f) If you own or operate an emergency stationary RICE, you must operate the emergency stationary RICE 

according to the requirements in paragraphs (f)(1) through (3) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6640. In order for the engine 

to be considered an emergency stationary RICE under this subpart, any operation other than emergency 

operation, maintenance and testing, and operation in non-emergency situations for 50 hours per year, as 

described in paragraphs (f)(1) through (3) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6640, is prohibited. If you do not operate the 

engine according to the requirements in paragraphs (f)(1) through (3) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6640, the engine will 

not be considered an emergency engine under this subpart and must meet all requirements for non-emergency 

engines. 

(1) There is no time limit on the use of emergency stationary RICE in emergency situations. 

(2) You may operate your emergency stationary RICE for the purpose specified in paragraph 

(f)(2)(i) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6640 for a maximum of 100 hours per calendar year. Any operation for 

non-emergency situations as allowed by paragraphs (f)(3) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6640 counts as part of 

the 100 hours per calendar year allowed by this paragraph (f)(2). 

(i) Emergency stationary RICE may be operated for maintenance checks and readiness 

testing, provided that the tests are recommended by federal, state or local government, the 

manufacturer, the vendor, the regional transmission organization or equivalent balancing 

authority and transmission operator, or the insurance company associated with the engine. 

The owner or operator may petition the Administrator for approval of additional hours to 

be used for maintenance checks and readiness testing, but a petition is not required if the 

owner or operator maintains records indicating that federal, state, or local standards require 

maintenance and testing of emergency RICE beyond 100 hours per calendar year. 

(3) Emergency stationary RICE located at major sources of HAP may be operated for up to 50 hours 

per calendar year in non-emergency situations. The 50 hours of operation in non-emergency 

situations are counted as part of the 100 hours per calendar year for maintenance and testing 

provided in paragraph (f)(2) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6640. The 50 hours per year for non-emergency 

situations cannot be used for peak shaving or non-emergency demand response, or to generate 

income for a facility to supply power to an electric grid or otherwise supply power as part of a 

financial arrangement with another entity. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6640(f)(1) through (f)(3); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(a)] (G3) 
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8.3.     Testing Requirements 

 
8.3.1. §63.6615   When must I conduct subsequent performance tests? 

 

If you must comply with the emission limitations and operating limitations, you must conduct subsequent 

performance tests as specified in Table 3 of this subpart. 

 

Table 3 to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Subsequent Performance Tests 

 
As stated in 40 C.F.R. §§63.6615 and 63.6620, you must comply with the following subsequent 

performance test requirements: 

For each .  .  . 

Complying with the 

requirement to .  .  . You must .  .  . 

1. New or reconstructed 4SLB stationary 

RICE ≥250 HP located at major sources;  

Reduce CO emissions and 

not using a CEMS 

Conduct subsequent performance tests 

semiannually.1 

3. Stationary RICE >500 HP located at 

major sources  

Limit the concentration of 

formaldehyde in the 

stationary RICE exhaust 

Conduct subsequent performance tests 

semiannually.1 

1After you have demonstrated compliance for two consecutive tests, you may reduce the frequency of 

subsequent performance tests to annually. If the results of any subsequent annual performance test indicate 

the stationary RICE is not in compliance with the CO or formaldehyde emission limitation, or you deviate 

from any of your operating limitations, you must resume semiannual performance tests. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6615, Table 3 (lines 1 and 3); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.3.4(a)] (E11) 

 

§63.6620   What performance tests and other procedures must I use? 

(a) You must conduct each performance test in Tables 3 and 4 of this subpart that applies to you. 

(b) Each performance test must be conducted according to the requirements that this subpart specifies in 

Table 4 to this subpart. If you own or operate a non-operational stationary RICE that is subject to performance 

testing, you do not need to start up the engine solely to conduct the performance test. Owners and operators 

of a non-operational engine can conduct the performance test when the engine is started up again. The test 

must be conducted at any load condition within plus or minus 10 percent of 100 percent load for the stationary 

RICE listed in paragraphs (b)(1) through (4) of this section. 

 (2) New non-emergency 4SLB stationary RICE with a site rating of greater than or equal to 250 

brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions. 

(d) You must conduct three separate test runs for each performance test required in this section, as specified 

in 40 C.F.R. §63.7(e)(3). Each test run must last at least 1 hour, unless otherwise specified in this subpart. 

(e)(1) You must use Equation 1 of this section to determine compliance with the percent reduction 

requirement: 
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Where: 

Ci = concentration of carbon monoxide (CO), total hydrocarbons (THC), or formaldehyde at the 

control device inlet, 

Co = concentration of CO, THC, or formaldehyde at the control device outlet, and 

R = percent reduction of CO, THC, or formaldehyde emissions. 

(2) You must normalize the CO, THC, or formaldehyde concentrations at the inlet and outlet of the control 

device to a dry basis and to 15 percent oxygen, or an equivalent percent carbon dioxide (CO2). If pollutant 

concentrations are to be corrected to 15 percent oxygen and CO2 concentration is measured in lieu of oxygen 

concentration measurement, a CO2 correction factor is needed. Calculate the CO2 correction factor as described 

in paragraphs (e)(2)(i) through (iii) of this section. 

(i) Calculate the fuel-specific Fo value for the fuel burned during the test using values obtained from 

Method 19, Section 5.2, and the following equation: 

 

Where: 

Fo = Fuel factor based on the ratio of oxygen volume to the ultimate CO2 volume produced by the 

fuel at zero percent excess air. 

0.209 = Fraction of air that is oxygen, percent/100. 

Fd = Ratio of the volume of dry effluent gas to the gross calorific value of the fuel from Method 

19, dsm3/J (dscf/106 Btu). 

Fc = Ratio of the volume of CO2 produced to the gross calorific value of the fuel from Method 19, 

dsm3/J (dscf/106 Btu) 

(ii) Calculate the CO2 correction factor for correcting measurement data to 15 percent O2, as follows: 

 

Where: 

XCO2 = CO2 correction factor, percent. 

5.9 = 20.9 percent O2—15 percent O2, the defined O2 correction value, percent. 

(iii) Calculate the CO, THC, and formaldehyde gas concentrations adjusted to 15 percent O2 using 

CO2 as follows: 
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Where: 

Cadj = Calculated concentration of CO, THC, or formaldehyde adjusted to 15 percent O2. 

Cd = Measured concentration of CO, THC, or formaldehyde, uncorrected. 

XCO2 = CO2 correction factor, percent. 

%CO2 = Measured CO2 concentration measured, dry basis, percent. 

(f) If you comply with the emission limitation to reduce CO and you are not using an oxidation catalyst, if 

you comply with the emission limitation to reduce formaldehyde and you are not using NSCR, or if you 

comply with the emission limitation to limit the concentration of formaldehyde in the stationary RICE 

exhaust and you are not using an oxidation catalyst or NSCR, you must petition the Administrator for 

operating limitations to be established during the initial performance test and continuously monitored 

thereafter; or for approval of no operating limitations. You must not conduct the initial performance test until 

after the petition has been approved by the Administrator. 

(i) The engine percent load during a performance test must be determined by documenting the calculations, 

assumptions, and measurement devices used to measure or estimate the percent load in a specific application. 

A written report of the average percent load determination must be included in the notification of compliance 

status. The following information must be included in the written report: the engine model number, the engine 

manufacturer, the year of purchase, the manufacturer's site-rated brake horsepower, the ambient temperature, 

pressure, and humidity during the performance test, and all assumptions that were made to estimate or 

calculate percent load during the performance test must be clearly explained. If measurement devices such 

as flow meters, kilowatt meters, beta analyzers, stain gauges, etc. are used, the model number of the 

measurement device, and an estimate of its accurate in percentage of true value must be provided. 

Table 4 to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Requirements for Performance Tests 

 
As stated in 40 C.F.R. §§63.6610, 63.6611, 63.6620, and 63.6640, you must comply with the following 

requirements for performance tests for stationary RICE: 

 

For each 

.  .  . 

Complying with 

the 

requirement to 

.  .  . You must .  .  . Using .  .  . 

According to the 

following requirements .  .  . 

1. 4SLB 

stationary 

RICE 

    

    

a. reduce CO 

emissions 

i. Select the sampling 

port location and the 

number/location of 

traverse points at the 

inlet and outlet of the 

control device; and 

 
(a) For CO, O2 and moisture 

measurement, ducts ≤6 inches in 

diameter may be sampled at a single 

point located at the duct centroid and 

ducts >6 and ≤12 inches in diameter 

may be sampled at 3 traverse points 

located at 16.7, 50.0, and 83.3% of the 

measurement line (`3-point long line'). 

If the duct is >12 inches in diameter 

and the sampling port location meets 

the two and half-diameter criterion of 

Section 11.1.1 of Method 1 of 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A-1, the duct may be 

sampled at `3-point long line'; 

otherwise, conduct the stratification 
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For each 

.  .  . 

Complying with 

the 

requirement to 

.  .  . You must .  .  . Using .  .  . 

According to the 

following requirements .  .  . 

testing and select sampling points 

according to Section 8.1.2 of Method 

7E of 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-4. 

ii. Measure the O2 at the 

inlet and outlet of the 

control device; and 

(1) Method 3 or 3A or 

3B of 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-2, or ASTM 

D6522-00 (Reapproved 

2005)13 (heated probe 

not necessary) 

(b) Measurements to determine O2 

must be made at the same time as the 

measurements for CO concentration. 

iii. Measure the CO at 

the inlet and the outlet 

of the control device 

and 

(2) ASTM D6522-00 

(Reapproved 2005)123 

(heated probe not 

necessary) or Method 10 

of 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-4 

(c) The CO C must be at 15 percent O2, 

dry basis. 

  iv. Measure moisture 

content at the inlet and 

outlet of the control 

device as needed to 

determine CO and O2 

concentrations on a dry 

basis 

(3) Method 4 of 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A-3, or  

or method 320 of 40 

CFR part 63, appendix A 

or ASTM D6348-0313  

(d) Measurements to determine 

moisture content  must be made at the 

same time and location as the 

measurements for CO concentration. 

3. Stationary 

RICE 

    

    

    

    

a. limit the 

concentration of 

formaldehyde or 

CO in the 

stationary RICE 

exhaust 

i. Select the sampling 

port location and the 

number/location of 

traverse points at the 

exhaust of the 

stationary RICE; and 

 
(a) For formaldehyde, CO, O2, and 

moisture measurement, ducts ≤6 inches 

in diameter may be sampled at a single 

point located at the duct centroid and 

ducts >6 and ≤12 inches in diameter 

may be sampled at 3 traverse points 

located at 16.7, 50.0, and 83.3% of the 

measurement line (`3-point long line'). 

If the duct is >12 inches in diameter 

and the sampling port location meets 

the two and half-diameter criterion of 

Section 11.1.1 of Method 1 of 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A, the duct may be 

sampled at `3-point long line'; 

otherwise, conduct the stratification 

testing and select sampling points 

according to Section 8.1.2 of Method 

7E of 40 CFR part 60, appendix A. If 

using a control device, the sampling 

site must be located at the outlet of the 

control device. 
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For each 

.  .  . 

Complying with 

the 

requirement to 

.  .  . You must .  .  . Using .  .  . 

According to the 

following requirements .  .  . 

ii. Determine the O2 

concentration of the 

stationary RICE 

exhaust at the sampling 

port location; and 

(1) Method 3 or 3A or 

3B of 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-2, or ASTM 

D6522-00 (Reapproved 

2005)13 (heated probe 

not necessary) 

(b) Measurements to determine O2 

concentration must be made at the same 

time and location as the measurements 

for formaldehyde or CO concentration. 

iii. Measure moisture 

content of the station-

ary RICE exhaust at the 

sampling port location 

as needed to determine 

formaldehyde or CO 

and O2 concentration on 

a dry basis; and 

(2) Method 4 of 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A-3, or 

Method 320 of 40 CFR 

part 63, appendix A, or 

ASTM D 6348-0313 

(c) Measurements to determine 

moisture content must be made at the 

same time and location as the 

measurements for formaldehyde or CO 

concentration. 

iv. Measure 

formaldehyde at the 

exhaust of the 

stationary RICE; or 

(3) Method 320 or 323 

of 40 CFR part 63, 

appendix A; or ASTM 

D6348-0313, provided in 

ASTM D6348-03 Annex 

A5 (Analyte Spiking 

Technique), the percent 

R must be greater than or 

equal to 70 and less than 

or equal to 130 

(d) Formaldehyde concentration must 

be at 15 percent O2, dry basis. Results 

of this test consist of the average of the 

three 1-hour or longer runs. 

v. measure CO at the 

exhaust of the 

stationary RICE 

(4) Method 10 of 40 

CFR part 60, appendix 

A-4, ASTM D6522-00 

(2005)13, Method 320 of 

40 CFR part 63, 

appendix A, or ASTM 

D6348-0313 

(e) CO concentration must be at 15 

percent O2, dry basis. Results of this 

test consist of the average of the three 

1-hour or longer runs. 

1You may also use Methods 3A and 10 as options to ASTM-D6522-00 (2005). You may obtain a copy of 

ASTM-D6522-00 (2005) from at least one of the following addresses: American Society for Testing and 

Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959, or University Microfilms 

International, 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106. 

2You may obtain a copy of ASTM-D6348-03 from at least one of the following addresses: American 

Society for Testing and Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959, or 

University Microfilms International, 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106. 

 
3Incorporated by reference, see §63.14. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6620(a), (b), (d), (e), (f), (i) and Table 4 (lines 1 and 3); 45CSR14, R14-

0013, 4.3.4(a)] (E11) 
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§63.6640   How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission limitations, operating 

limitations, and other requirements? 

 

(a) You must demonstrate continuous compliance with each emission limitation, operating limitation, and 

other requirements in Tables 1a and 1b, Tables 2a and 2b, Table 2c, and Table 2d to 40 C.F.R.63 Subpart 

ZZZZ that apply to you according to methods specified in Table 6 to this subpart. 

 

Table 6 to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Continuous Compliance with Emission Limitations, and Other 

Requirements 

As stated in 40 C.F.R. §63.6640, you must continuously comply with the emissions and operating limitations   

and work or management practices as required by the following: 

 

For each .  .  . 

Complying with the 

requirement to .  .  . 

You must demonstrate continuous compliance 

by .  .  . 

1. New or reconstructed non-

emergency 4SLB stationary RICE 

≥250 HP located at a major source 

of HAP 

    

    

a. Reduce CO emissions and 

using an oxidation catalyst, 

and using a CPMS 

    

    

i. Conducting semiannual performance tests for CO 

to demonstrate that the required CO percent 

reduction is achieveda; and 

ii. Collecting the catalyst inlet temperature data 

according to 40 C.F.R. §63.6625(b); and 

iii. Reducing these data to 4-hour rolling averages; 

and 

iv. Maintaining the 4-hour rolling averages within 

the operating limitations for the catalyst inlet 

temperature; and 

v. Measuring the pressure drop across the catalyst 

once per month and demonstrating that the 

pressure drop across the catalyst is within the 

operating limitation established during the 

performance test. 

7. New or reconstructed non-

emergency stationary RICE >500 

HP located at a major source of 

HAP and new or reconstructed 

non-emergency 4SLB stationary 

RICE 250≤HP≤500 located at a 

major source of HAP 

    

    

    

a. Limit the concentration of 

formaldehyde in the stationary 

RICE exhaust and using 

oxidation catalyst or NSCR 

    

    

    

i. Conducting semiannual performance tests for 

formaldehyde to demonstrate that your emissions 

remain at or below the formaldehyde concentration 

limita; and 

ii. Collecting the catalyst inlet temperature data 

according to 40 C.F.R.§63.6625(b); and 

iii. Reducing these data to 4-hour rolling averages; 

and 

iv. Maintaining the 4-hour rolling averages within 

the operating limitations for the catalyst inlet 

temperature; and 

v. Measuring the pressure drop across the catalyst 

once per month and demonstrating that the 

pressure drop across the catalyst is within the 

operating limitation established during the 

performance test. 

aAfter you have demonstrated compliance for two consecutive tests, you may reduce the frequency of subsequent 

performance tests to annually. If the results of any subsequent annual performance test indicate the stationary 

RICE is not in compliance with the CO or formaldehyde emission limitation, or you deviate from any of your 

operating limitations, you must resume semiannual performance tests. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6640(a), Table 6 (lines 1 and 7); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(b)] (E11) 
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8.4.     Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

8.4.1. §63.6655   What records must I keep? 

(a) If you must comply with the emission and operating limitations, you must keep the records described in 

paragraphs (a)(1) through (a)(5), (b)(1) through (b)(3) and (c) of 40 C.F.R.§63.6655. 

(1) A copy of each notification and report that you submitted to comply with this subpart, including all 

documentation supporting any Initial Notification or Notification of Compliance Status that you 

submitted, according to the requirement in 40 C.F.R. §63.10(b)(2)(xiv). 

(2) Records of the occurrence and duration of each malfunction of operation (i.e., process equipment) or 

the air pollution control and monitoring equipment. 

(3) Records of performance tests and performance evaluations as required in 40 C.F.R §63.10(b)(2)(viii). 

(4) Records of all required maintenance performed on the air pollution control and monitoring equipment. 

(5) Records of actions taken during periods of malfunction to minimize emissions in accordance with 40  

C.F.R, §63.6605(b), including corrective actions to restore malfunctioning process and air pollution 

control and monitoring equipment to its normal or usual manner of operation. 

(b) For each CEMS or CPMS, you must keep the records listed in paragraphs (b)(1) through (3) of 40 

C.F.R.§63.6665. 

    (1) Records described in 40 C.F.R. §63.10(b)(2)(vi) through (xi). 

 (2) Previous (i.e., superseded) versions of the performance evaluation plan as required in 40 C.F.R.    

§63.8(d)(3). 

(3) Requests for alternatives to the relative accuracy test for CEMS or CPMS as required in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.8(f)(6)(i), if applicable. 

(d) You must keep the records required in Table 6 of 40 C.F.R.63 Subpart ZZZZ to show continuous 

compliance with each emission or operating limitation that applies to you. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6655(a), (b), (d); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(b)] (E11) 

 

§63.6660   In what form and how long must I keep my records? 

(a) Your records must be in a form suitable and readily available for expeditious review according to 40 

C.F.R.§63.10(b)(1). 

(b) As specified in 40 C.F.R.§63.10(b)(1), you must keep each record for 5 years following the date of each 

occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report, or record. 

(c) You must keep each record readily accessible in hard copy or electronic form for at least 5 years after the 

date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report, or record, according to 40 

C.F.R.§63.10(b)(1). 
[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6660] (E11)  
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8.5.     Reporting Requirements 

 

8.5.1. §63.6640   How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission limitations, operating 

limitations, and other requirements? 

 

(b) You must report each instance in which you did not meet each emission limitation or operating limitation 

in Tables 1a and 1b, Tables 2a and 2b, Table 2c, and Table 2d to this subpart that apply to you. These instances 

are deviations from the emission and operating limitations in this subpart. These deviations must be reported 

according to the requirements in 40 C.F.R. §63.6650. If you change your catalyst, you must reestablish the 

values of the operating parameters measured during the initial performance test. When you reestablish the 

values of your operating parameters, you must also conduct a performance test to demonstrate that you are 

meeting the required emission limitation applicable to your stationary RICE. 

 

(e) You must also report each instance in which you did not meet the requirements in Table 8 to this subpart 

that apply to you. If you own or operate a new or reconstructed stationary RICE with a site rating of less than 

or equal to 500 brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions (except new or reconstructed 4SLB 

engines greater than or equal to 250 and less than or equal to 500 brake HP), a new or reconstructed stationary 

RICE located at an area source of HAP emissions, or any of the following RICE with a site rating of more 

than 500 brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions, you do not need to comply with the 

requirements in Table 8 to this subpart: An existing 2SLB stationary RICE, an existing 4SLB stationary 

RICE, an existing emergency stationary RICE, an existing limited use stationary RICE, or an existing 

stationary RICE which fires landfill gas or digester gas equivalent to 10 percent or more of the gross heat 

input on an annual basis. If you own or operate any of the following RICE with a site rating of more than 500 

brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions, you do not need to comply with the requirements in 

Table 8 to this subpart, except for the initial notification requirements: a new or reconstructed stationary 

RICE that combusts landfill gas or digester gas equivalent to 10 percent or more of the gross heat input on 

an annual basis, a new or reconstructed emergency stationary RICE, or a new or reconstructed limited use 

stationary RICE. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6640(b) and (e); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.2.6(b)] (E11) 

 

 §63.6650   What reports must I submit and when? 

(a) You must submit each report in Table 7 of this subpart that applies to you. 

(b) Unless the Administrator has approved a different schedule for submission of reports under 40 C.F.R. 

§63.10(a), you must submit each report by the date in Table 7 of this subpart and according to the 

requirements in paragraphs (b)(1) through (b)(9) of 40 C.F.R. §63.6650. 

(1) For semiannual Compliance reports, the first Compliance report must cover the period beginning 

on the compliance date that is specified for your affected source in 40 C.F.R. §63.6595 and ending 

on June 30 or December 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the first calendar 

half after the compliance date that is specified for your source in 40 C.F.R. §63.6595. 

(2) For semiannual Compliance reports, the first Compliance report must be postmarked or delivered 

no later than July 31 or January 31, whichever date follows the end of the first calendar half after 

the compliance date that is specified for your affected source in 40 C.F.R. §63.6595. 
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(3) For semiannual Compliance reports, each subsequent Compliance report must cover the 

semiannual reporting period from January 1 through June 30 or the semiannual reporting period 

from July 1 through December 31. 

(4) For semiannual Compliance reports, each subsequent Compliance report must be postmarked or 

delivered no later than July 31 or January 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of 

the semiannual reporting period. 

(5) For each stationary RICE that is subject to permitting regulations pursuant to 40 CFR part 70 or 

71, and if the permitting authority has established dates for submitting semiannual reports pursuant 

to 40 CFR 70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 CFR 71.6 (a)(3)(iii)(A), you may submit the first and subsequent 

Compliance reports according to the dates the permitting authority has established instead of 

according to the dates in paragraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of 40 C.F.R.§63.6650. 

(6) For annual Compliance reports, the first Compliance report must cover the period beginning on 

the compliance date that is specified for your affected source in 40 C.F.R. §63.6595 and ending on 

December 31. 

(7) For annual Compliance reports, the first Compliance report must be postmarked or delivered no 

later than January 31 following the end of the first calendar year after the compliance date that is 

specified for your affected source in 40 C.F.R. §63.6595. 

(8) For annual Compliance reports, each subsequent Compliance report must cover the annual 

reporting period from January 1 through December 31. 

(9) For annual Compliance reports, each subsequent Compliance report must be postmarked or 

delivered no later than January 31. 

(c) The Compliance report must contain the information in paragraphs (c)(1) through (6) of this section. 

(1) Company name and address. 

(2) Statement by a responsible official, with that official's name, title, and signature, certifying the 

accuracy of the content of the report. 

(3) Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the reporting period. 

(4) If you had a malfunction during the reporting period, the compliance report must include the 

number, duration, and a brief description for each type of malfunction which occurred during the 

reporting period and which caused or may have caused any applicable emission limitation to be 

exceeded. The report must also include a description of actions taken by an owner or operator during 

a malfunction of an affected source to minimize emissions in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 

§63.6605(b), including actions taken to correct a malfunction. 

(5) If there are no deviations from any emission or operating limitations that apply to you, a 

statement that there were no deviations from the emission or operating limitations during the 

reporting period. 

(6) If there were no periods during which the continuous monitoring system (CMS), including 

CEMS and CPMS, was out-of-control, as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.8(c)(7), a statement that there 

were no periods during which the CMS was out-of-control during the reporting period. 
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 (e) For each deviation from an emission or operating limitation occurring for a stationary RICE where you are 

using a CMS to comply with the emission and operating limitations in this subpart, you must include information 

in paragraphs (c)(1) through (4) and (e)(1) through (12) of this section. 

(1) The date and time that each malfunction started and stopped. 

(2) The date, time, and duration that each CMS was inoperative, except for zero (low-level) and 

high-level checks. 

(3) The date, time, and duration that each CMS was out-of-control, including the information in 40 

C.F.R. §63.8(c)(8). 

(4) The date and time that each deviation started and stopped, and whether each deviation occurred 

during a period of malfunction or during another period. 

(5) A summary of the total duration of the deviation during the reporting period, and the total 

duration as a percent of the total source operating time during that reporting period. 

(6) A breakdown of the total duration of the deviations during the reporting period into those that 

are due to control equipment problems, process problems, other known causes, and other unknown 

causes. 

(7) A summary of the total duration of CMS downtime during the reporting period, and the total 

duration of CMS downtime as a percent of the total operating time of the stationary RICE at which 

the CMS downtime occurred during that reporting period. 

(8) An identification of each parameter and pollutant (CO or formaldehyde) that was monitored at 

the stationary RICE. 

(9) A brief description of the stationary RICE. 

(10) A brief description of the CMS. 

(11) The date of the latest CMS certification or audit. 

(12) A description of any changes in CMS, processes, or controls since the last reporting period. 

(f) Each affected source that has obtained a title V operating permit pursuant to 40 CFR part 70 or 71 must 

report all deviations as defined in this subpart in the semiannual monitoring report required by 40 CFR 70.6 

(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 CFR 71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A). If an affected source submits a Compliance report pursuant to 

Table 7 of this subpart along with, or as part of, the semiannual monitoring report required by 40 CFR 

70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 CFR 71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A), and the Compliance report includes all required information 

concerning deviations from any emission or operating limitation in this subpart, submission of the 

Compliance report shall be deemed to satisfy any obligation to report the same deviations in the semiannual 

monitoring report. However, submission of a Compliance report shall not otherwise affect any obligation the 

affected source may have to report deviations from permit requirements to the permit authority. 
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Table 7 to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63—Requirements for Reports 

As stated in 40 C.F.R. §63.6650, you must comply with the following requirements for reports: 

For each .  .  . 

You must 

submit a 

.  .  . The report must contain .  .  . 

You must submit the report 

.  .  . 

1. new or 

reconstructed non-

emergency stationary 

RICE >500 HP 

located at a major 

source of HAP 

    

    

Compliance 

report 

    

    

a. If there are no deviations from any emission 

limitations or operating limitations that apply to you, a 

statement that there were no deviations from the 

emission limitations or operating limitations during the 

reporting period. If there were no periods during which 

the CMS, including CEMS and CPMS, was out-of-

control, as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.8(c)(7), a 

statement that there were not periods during which the 

CMS was out-of-control during the reporting period; 

or 

i. Semiannually according to the 

requirements in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.6650(b)(1)-(5) for engines 

that are not limited use 

stationary RICE subject to 

numerical emission limitations; 

and 

ii. Annually according to the 

requirements in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.6650(b)(6)-(9) for engines 

that are limited use stationary 

RICE subject to numerical 

emission limitations. 

b. If you had a deviation from any emission limitation 

or operating limitation during the reporting period, the 

information in §63.6650(d). If there were periods 

during which the CMS, including CEMS and CPMS, 

was out-of-control, as specified in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.8(c)(7), the information in 40 C.F.R. §63.6650(e); 

or 

i. Semiannually according to the 

requirements in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.6650(b). 

c. If you had a malfunction during the reporting period, 

the information in 40 C.F.R. §63.6650(c)(4). 

i. Semiannually according to the 

requirements in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.6650(b). 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6650(a), (b), (c), (e), (f), and Table 7 (line 1); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(b)] 

(E11) 

 

8.5.2. §63.6645   What notifications must I submit and when?  

 

(a) You must submit all of the notifications in 40 C.F.R. §§63.7(b) and (c), 63.8(e), (f)(4) and (f)(6), 63.9(b) 

through (e), and (g) and (h) that apply to you by the dates specified if you own or operate any of the following; 

 (4) A new or reconstructed 4SLB stationary RICE with a site rating of greater than or equal to 250  

HP located at a major source of HAP emissions.       

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6645(a)(4); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(b)] (E11) 

(f) If you are required to submit an Initial Notification but are otherwise not affected by the requirements of 

this subpart, in accordance with 40 C.F.R.§63.6590(b), your notification should include the information in 

40 C.F.R.§63.9(b)(2)(i) through (v), and a statement that your stationary RICE has no additional requirements 

and explain the basis of the exclusion (for example, that it operates exclusively as an emergency stationary 

RICE if it has a site rating of more than 500 brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions). 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6645(f); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(a)] (G3) 
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(g) If you are required to conduct a performance test, you must submit a Notification of Intent to conduct a 

performance test at least 60 days before the performance test is scheduled to begin as required in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.7(b)(1). [45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6645(g); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(b)] (E11) 

(h) If you are required to conduct a performance test or other initial compliance demonstration as specified 

in Tables 4 and 5 to this subpart, you must submit a Notification of Compliance Status according to 40 

C.F.R.§63.9(h)(2)(ii). 

(1) For each initial compliance demonstration required in Table 5 to this subpart that does not 

include a performance test, you must submit the Notification of Compliance Status before the close 

of business on the 30th day following the completion of the initial compliance demonstration. 

(2) For each initial compliance demonstration required in Table 5 to this subpart that includes a 

performance test conducted according to the requirements in Table 3 to this subpart, you must 

submit the Notification of Compliance Status, including the performance test results, before the 

close of business on the 60th day following the completion of the performance test according to 40 

C.F.R. §63.10(d)(2).  

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6645(h); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.5.1(b)] (E11) 

  

 

8.6. Compliance Plan 

 
8.6.1. N/A 
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9.0.      40 C.F.R. 63, Subpart DDDDD MACT Requirements for Boiler(s) and Process Heater(s) 

      [emission point ID(s): BL2, HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5] 

 

9.1.     Limitations and Standards 

 

9.1.1.   §63.7490   What is the affected source of this subpart? 

(a) This subpart applies to new, reconstructed, and existing affected sources as described in paragraphs (a)(1) and 

(2) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7490. 

(1) The affected source of this subpart is the collection at a major source of all existing industrial, commercial, 

and institutional boilers and process heaters within a subcategory as defined in 40 C.F.R. §63.7575. 

(2) The affected source of this subpart is each new or reconstructed industrial, commercial, or institutional 

boiler or process heater, as defined in 40 C.F.R. §63.7575, located at a major source. 

(b) A boiler or process heater is new if you commence construction of the boiler or process heater after June 4, 

2010, and you meet the applicability criteria at the time you commence construction. (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, 

HTR5) 

  (d) A boiler or process heater is existing if it is not new or reconstructed. (BL2) 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7490(a), (b) and (d)] 

 

§63.7495   When do I have to comply with this subpart? 

(a) If you have a new or reconstructed boiler or process heater, you must comply with this subpart by April 1, 

2013, or upon startup of your boiler or process heater, whichever is later. (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5) 

  (b) If you have an existing boiler or process heater, you must comply with this subpart no later than January  

   31, 2016, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §63.6(i). (BL2) 

 

(d) You must meet the notification requirements in 40 C.F.R. §63.7545 according to the schedule in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.7545 and in subpart A of 40 C.F.R.60. Some of the notifications must be submitted before you are required 

to comply with the emission limits and work practice standards in this subpart. 

 

  [45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7495(a), (b) and (d)] 

 

                  §63.7499   What are the subcategories of boilers and process heaters? 

 

(l) Units designed to burn gas 1 fuels. 

 

  [45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.74995(l)] 

 

§63.7500   What emission limitations, work practice standards, and operating limits must I meet? 

(a) You must meet the requirements in paragraphs (a)(1) through (3) of this section, except as provided in 

paragraphs (b), through (e) of this section. You must meet these requirements at all times the affected unit is 

operating, except as provided in paragraph (f) of this section. 
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(1) You must meet each emission limit and work practice standard in Tables 1 through 3, and 11 through 15 

to this subpart that applies to your boiler or process heater, for each boiler or process heater at your source, 

except as provided under §63.7522. The output-based emission limits, in units of pounds per million Btu of 

steam output, in Tables 1 or 2 to this subpart are an alternative applicable only to boilers and process heaters 

that generate either steam, cogenerate steam with electricity, or both. The output-based emission limits, in 

units of pounds per megawatt-hour, in Tables 1 or 2 to this subpart are an alternative applicable only to boilers 

that generate only electricity. Boilers that perform multiple functions (cogeneration and electricity 

generation) or supply steam to common headers would calculate a total steam energy output using equation 

1 of 40 C.F.R. §63.7575 to demonstrate compliance with the output-based emission limits, in units of pounds 

per million Btu of steam output, in Table 1 or 2 to this subpart. If you operate a new boiler or process heater, 

you can choose to comply with alternative limits as discussed in paragraphs (a)(1)(i) through (iv) of 40 

C.F.R.§63.7500, but on or after October 6, 2025, you must comply with the emission limits in Table 1 to 40 

C.F.R.63 Subpart DDDDD. 

Table 3 to Subpart DDDDD of Part 63—Work Practice Standards 

As stated in 40 C.F.R. §63.7500, you must comply with the following applicable work practice standards: 

If your unit is .  .  . You must meet the following .  .  . 

1. A new or existing boiler or process heater with a 

continuous oxygen trim system that maintains an optimum 

air to fuel ratio, or a heat input capacity of less than or equal 

to 5 million Btu per hour in any of the following 

subcategories: unit designed to burn gas 1; unit designed to 

burn gas 2 (other); or unit designed to burn light liquid, or a 

limited use boiler or process heater (BL2, HTR2, HTR3, 

HTR4, HTR5) 

Conduct a tune-up of the boiler or process heater every 5 years 

as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7540. 

4. An existing boiler or process heater located at a major 

source facility, not including limited use units (BL2) 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

Must have a one-time energy assessment performed by a 

qualified energy assessor. An energy assessment completed on 

or after January 1, 2008, that meets or is amended to meet the 

energy assessment requirements in this table, satisfies the 

energy assessment requirement. A facility that operated under 

an energy management program developed according to the 

ENERGY STAR guidelines for energy management or 

compatible with ISO 50001 for at least one year between 

January 1, 2008 and the compliance date specified in 40 C.F.R. 

40 C.F.R. §63.7495 that includes the affected units also 

satisfies the energy assessment requirement. The energy 

assessment must include the following with extent of the 

evaluation for items a. to e. appropriate for the on-site technical 

hours listed in 40 C.F.R. §63.7575: 

a. A visual inspection of the boiler or process heater system. 

b. An evaluation of operating characteristics of the boiler or 

process heater systems, specifications of energy using systems, 

operating and maintenance procedures, and unusual operating 

constraints. 

c. An inventory of major energy use systems consuming energy 

from affected boilers and process heaters and which are under 

the control of the boiler/process heater owner/operator. 
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If your unit is .  .  . You must meet the following .  .  . 

d. A review of available architectural and engineering plans, 

facility operation and maintenance procedures and logs, and 

fuel usage. 

e. A review of the facility's energy management program and 

provide recommendations for improvements consistent with the 

definition of energy management program, if identified. 

f. A list of cost-effective energy conservation measures that are 

within the facility's control. 

g. A list of the energy savings potential of the energy 

conservation measures identified. 

h. A comprehensive report detailing the ways to improve 

efficiency, the cost of specific improvements, benefits, and the 

time frame for recouping those investments. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7500(a)(1), and Table 3 (lines 1 and 4)] 

 
(3) At all times, you must operate and maintain any affected source (as defined in 40 C.F.R §63.7490), 

including associated air pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a manner consistent with 

safety and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. Determination of whether such 

operation and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available to the 

Administrator that may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, review of operation and maintenance 

procedures, review of operation and maintenance records, and inspection of the source. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7500(a)(3)] (BL2, HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5) 

 
(e) Boilers and process heaters in the units designed to burn gas 1 fuels subcategory with a heat input capacity of 

less than or equal to 5 million Btu per hour must complete a tune-up every 5 years as specified in §63.7540. 

Boilers and process heaters in the units designed to burn gas 1 fuels subcategory with a heat input capacity greater 

than 5 million Btu per hour and less than 10 million Btu per hour must complete a tune-up every 2 years as 

specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7540. Boilers and process heaters in the units designed to burn gas 1 fuels subcategory 

are not subject to the emission limits in Tables 1 and 2 or 11 through 15 to this subpart, or the operating limits in 

Table 4 to 40 C.F.R.63 Subpart DDDDD. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7500(e); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.8(b)] (BL2, HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5) 

 
§63.7510   What are my initial compliance requirements and by what date must I conduct them? 

 

(e) For existing affected sources (as defined in 40 C.F.R. §63.7490), you must complete the initial compliance 

demonstrations, as specified in paragraphs (a) through (d) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7510, no later than 180 days after the 

compliance date that is specified for your source in 40 C.F.R. §63.7495 and according to the applicable provisions 

in 40 C.F.R. §63.7(a)(2) as cited in Table 10 to 40 C.F.R.63 Subpart ZZZZ, except as specified in paragraph (j) 

of 40 C.F.R. §63.7510. You must complete an initial tune-up by following the procedures described in 40 C.F.R. 

§§63.7540(a)(10)(i) through (vi) no later than the compliance date specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7495, except as 

specified in paragraph (j) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7510. You must complete the one-time energy assessment specified in 

Table 3 to this subpart no later than the compliance date specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7495 (January 31, 2016). 

 [45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7510(e)] (BL2)  

 
(g) For new or reconstructed affected sources (as defined in 40 C.F.R. §63.7490), you must demonstrate initial 

compliance with the applicable work practice standards in Table 3 to this subpart within the applicable annual, 
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biennial, or 5-year schedule as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7515(d) following the initial compliance date specified 

in 40 C.F.R. §63.7495(a). Thereafter, you are required to complete the applicable annual, biennial, or 5-year tune-

up as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7515(d). 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7510(g)] (HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5)  

 
§63.7540   How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission limitations, fuel specifications 

and work practice standards? 

 
(a)(10) You must conduct the tune-up while burning the type of fuel (or fuels in case of units that routinely 

burn a mixture) that provided the majority of the heat input to the boiler or process heater over the 12 months 

prior to the tune-up.  

(i) As applicable, inspect the burner, and clean or replace any components of the burner as necessary 

(you may perform the burner inspection any time prior to the tune-up or delay the burner inspection 

until the next scheduled unit shutdown). Units that produce electricity for sale may delay the burner 

inspection until the first outage, not to exceed 36 months from the previous inspection. At units 

where entry into a piece of process equipment or into a storage vessel is required to complete the 

tune-up inspections, inspections are required only during planned entries into the storage vessel or 

process equipment; 

(ii) Inspect the flame pattern, as applicable, and adjust the burner as necessary to optimize the flame 

pattern. The adjustment should be consistent with the manufacturer's specifications, if available; 

(iii) Inspect the system controlling the air-to-fuel ratio, as applicable, and ensure that it is correctly 

calibrated and functioning properly (you may delay the inspection until the next scheduled unit 

shutdown). Units that produce electricity for sale may delay the inspection until the first outage, not 

to exceed 36 months from the previous inspection; 

(iv) Optimize total emissions of CO. This optimization should be consistent with the manufacturer's 

specifications, if available, and with any NOX requirement to which the unit is subject; 

(v) Measure the concentrations in the effluent stream of CO in parts per million, by volume, and 

oxygen in volume percent, before and after the adjustments are made (measurements may be either 

on a dry or wet basis, as long as it is the same basis before and after the adjustments are made). 

Measurements may be taken using a portable CO analyzer; and 

(vi) Maintain on-site and submit, if requested by the Administrator, a report containing the 

information in paragraphs (a)(10)(vi)(A) through (C) of this section, 

(A) The concentrations of CO in the effluent stream in parts per million by volume, and 

oxygen in volume percent, measured at high fire or typical operating load, before and after 

the tune-up of the boiler or process heater; 

(B) A description of any corrective actions taken as a part of the tune-up; and 

(C) The type and amount of fuel used over the 12 months prior to the tune-up, but only if 

the unit was physically and legally capable of using more than one type of fuel during that 

period. Units sharing a fuel meter may estimate the fuel used by each unit. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(10); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.8(c)(b) and 4.4.5]  
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(12) If your boiler or process heater has a heat input capacity of less than or equal to 5 million Btu 

per hour and the unit is in the units designed to burn gas 1, you must conduct a tune-up of the boiler 

or process heater every 5 years as specified in paragraphs (a)(10)(i) through (vi) of 40 

C.F.R.§63.7540 to demonstrate continuous compliance. You may delay the burner inspection 

specified in paragraph (a)(10)(i) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7540 until the next scheduled or unscheduled unit 

shutdown, but you must inspect each burner at least once every 72 months. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(12); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.8(b)] (BL2, HTR2, HTR3, 

HTR4, HTR5) 

 

(13) If the unit is not operating on the required date for a tune-up, the tune-up must be conducted 

within 30 calendar days of startup. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(13); 45CSR14, R14-0013, 4.1.104.1.8(b)]  

 

9.2.     Monitoring Requirements 

 

9.2.1. None. 

 

9.3.     Testing Requirements 

 

9.3.1.  §63.7515   When must I conduct subsequent performance tests, fuel analyses, or tune-ups? 

 

(d) If you are required to meet an applicable tune-up work practice standard, you must conduct an annual, 

biennial, or 5-year performance tune-up according to 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(10), (11), or (12), respectively. 

Each annual tune-up specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(10) must be no more than 13 months after the 

previous tune-up. Each biennial tune-up specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(11) must be conducted no more 

than 25 months after the previous tune-up. Each 5-year tune-up specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(12) must 

be conducted no more than 61 months after the previous tune-up. For a new or reconstructed affected source 

(as defined in 40 C.F.R. §63.7490), the first annual, biennial, or 5-year tune-up must be no later than 13 

months, 25 months, or 61 months, respectively, after April 1, 2013 or the initial startup of the new or 

reconstructed affected source, whichever is later. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7515(d)] (BL2, HTR2, HTR3, HTR4, HTR5) 
 

9.4.     Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

9.4.1. §63.7555   What records must I keep? 

(a) You must keep records according to paragraphs (a)(1) and (2) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7555. 

(1) A copy of each notification and report that you submitted to comply with this subpart, including 

all documentation supporting any Initial Notification or Notification of Compliance Status or 

semiannual compliance report that you submitted, according to the requirements in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.10(b)(2)(xiv). 

 (h) If you operate a unit in the unit designed to burn gas 1 subcategory that is subject to this subpart, and you 

use an alternative fuel other than natural gas, refinery gas, gaseous fuel subject to another subpart under this 

part, other gas 1 fuel, or gaseous fuel subject to another subpart of this part or part 60, 61, or 65, you must 

keep records of the total hours per calendar year that alternative fuel is burned and the total hours per calendar 

year that the unit operated during periods of gas curtailment or gas supply emergencies. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.7555(a)(1) and (h)] 
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§63.7560   In what form and how long must I keep my records? 

(a) Your records must be in a form suitable and readily available for expeditious review, according to 40 

C.F.R. §63.10(b)(1). 

(b) As specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.10(b)(1), you must keep each record for 5 years following the date of each 

occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report, or record. 

(c) You must keep each record on site, or they must be accessible from on site (for example, through a 

computer network), for at least 2 years after the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, 

corrective action, report, or record, according to 40 C.F.R. §63.10(b)(1). You can keep the records off site 

for the remaining 3 years. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.7560] 

 

9.5.     Reporting Requirements 

 

9.5.1.   §63.7530   How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission limitations, fuel specifications and     

work practice standards? 

 
(e)  You must include with the Notification of Compliance Status a signed certification that either the energy 

assessment was completed according to Table 3 to 40 C.F.R. 63 Subpart DDDDD, and that the assessment 

is an accurate depiction of your facility at the time of the assessment, or that the maximum number of on-site 

technical hours specified in the definition of energy assessment applicable to the facility has been expended. 

 
(f)  You must submit the Notification of Compliance Status containing the results of the initial compliance 

demonstration according to the requirements in 40 C.F.R §63.7545(e). 

 
[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.7530(e) and (f)] 

 

       §63.7545   What notifications must I submit and when? 

 

(c) As specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.9(b)(4) and (5), if you startup your new or reconstructed affected source on or 

after January 31, 2013, you must submit an Initial Notification not later than 15 days after the actual date of 

startup of the affected source. 

(e) If you are required to conduct an initial compliance demonstration as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7530, you 

must submit a Notification of Compliance Status according to 40 C.F.R. §63.9(h)(2)(ii). For the initial compliance 

demonstration for each boiler or process heater, you must submit the Notification of Compliance Status, including 

all performance test results and fuel analyses, before the close of business on the 60th day following the 

completion of all performance test and/or other initial compliance demonstrations for all boiler or process heaters 

at the facility according to 40 C.F.R. §63.10(d)(2). The Notification of Compliance Status report must contain all 

the information specified in paragraphs (e)(1) through (8) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7545, as applicable. If you are not 

required to conduct an initial compliance demonstration as specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.7530(a), the Notification 

of Compliance Status must only contain the information specified in paragraphs (e)(1) and (8) of 40 

C.F.R.§63.7545 and must be submitted within 60 days of the compliance date specified at 40 C.F.R. §63.7495(b). 

(1) A description of the affected unit(s) including identification of which subcategories the unit is in, the 

design heat input capacity of the unit, a description of the add-on controls used on the unit to comply with 

this subpart, description of the fuel(s) burned, including whether the fuel(s) were a secondary material 
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determined by you or the EPA through a petition process to be a non-waste under §241.3 of this chapter, 

whether the fuel(s) were a secondary material processed from discarded non-hazardous secondary materials 

within the meaning of §241.3 of this chapter, and justification for the selection of fuel(s) burned during the 

compliance demonstration. 

(8) In addition to the information required in 40 C.F.R. §63.9(h)(2), your notification of compliance status 

must include the following certification(s) of compliance, as applicable, and signed by a responsible official: 

(i) “This facility completed the required initial tune-up for all of the boilers and process heaters 

covered by 40 C.F.R. part 63 Subpart DDDDD at this site according to the procedures in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.7540(a)(10)(i) through (vi).” 

(ii) “This facility has had an energy assessment performed according to 40 C.F.R. §63.7530(e).” 

(iii) Except for units that burn only natural gas, refinery gas, or other gas 1 fuel, or units that qualify 

for a statutory exemption as provided in section 129(g)(1) of the Clean Air Act, include the 

following: “No secondary materials that are solid waste were combusted in any affected unit.” 

(f) If you operate a unit designed to burn natural gas, refinery gas, or other gas 1 fuels that is subject to this subpart, 

and you intend to use a fuel other than natural gas, refinery gas, gaseous fuel subject to another subpart of this part, 

part 60, 61, or 65, or other gas 1 fuel to fire the affected unit during a period of natural gas curtailment or supply 

interruption, as defined in 40 C.F.R. §63.7575, you must submit a notification of alternative fuel use within 48 

hours of the declaration of each period of natural gas curtailment or supply interruption, as defined in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.7575. The notification must include the information specified in paragraphs (f)(1) through (5) of 40 C.F.R. 

§63.7545. 

(1) Company name and address. 

(2) Identification of the affected unit. 

(3) Reason you are unable to use natural gas or equivalent fuel, including the date when the natural gas 

curtailment was declared or the natural gas supply interruption began. 

(4) Type of alternative fuel that you intend to use. 

(5) Dates when the alternative fuel use is expected to begin and end. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.7545(c), (e)(1), (e)(8), (f)] 

 
§63.7550   What reports must I submit and when? 

(a) You must submit each report in Table 9 to 40 C.F.R. 63 Subpart DDDDD that applies to you. 

 

                Table 9 to Subpart DDDDD of Part 63—Reporting Requirements 

As stated in 40 C.F.R. §63.7550, you must comply with the following requirements for reports: 
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You must 

submit a(n) The report must contain .  .  . 

You must submit the 

report .  .  . 

1. Compliance 

report 

    

    

    

a. Information required in 40 C.F.R. §63.7550(c)(1) through (5); and Semiannually, annually, 

biennially, or every 5 years 

according to the 

requirements in 40 C.F.R. 

§63.7550(b). 

b. If there are no deviations from any emission limitation (emission limit and 

operating limit) that applies to you and there are no deviations from the 

requirements for work practice standards for periods of startup and shutdown in 

Table 3 to this subpart that apply to you, a statement that there were no 

deviations from the emission limitations and work practice standards during the 

reporting period. If there were no periods during which the CMSs, including 

continuous emissions monitoring system, continuous opacity monitoring 

system, and operating parameter monitoring systems, were out-of-control as 

specified in 40 C.F.R. §63.8(c)(7), a statement that there were no periods during 

which the CMSs were out-of-control during the reporting period; and 

c. If you have a deviation from any emission limitation (emission limit and 

operating limit) where you are not using a CMS to comply with that emission 

limit or operating limit, or a deviation from a work practice standard for periods 

of startup and shutdown, during the reporting period, the report must contain 

the information in 40 C.F.R. §63.7550(d); and 

d. If there were periods during which the CMSs, including continuous 

emissions monitoring system, continuous opacity monitoring system, and 

operating parameter monitoring systems, were out-of-control as specified in 40 

C.F.R. §63.8(c)(7), or otherwise not operating, the report must contain the 

information in 40 C.F.R. §63.7550(e)  

(b) Unless the EPA Administrator has approved a different schedule for submission of reports under §63.10(a), you 

must submit each report, according to paragraph (h) of this section, by the date in Table 9 to this subpart and according 

to the requirements in paragraphs (b)(1) through (4) of 40 C.F.R.§63.7550. For units that are subject only to a 

requirement to conduct subsequent annual, biennial, or 5-year tune-up according to 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(10), (11), 

or (12), respectively, and not subject to emission limits or Table 4 operating limits, you may submit only an annual, 

biennial, or 5-year compliance report, as applicable, as specified in paragraphs (b)(1) through (4) of 40 

C.F.R.§63.7550, instead of a semi-annual compliance report. 

(1) The first semi-annual compliance report must cover the period beginning on the compliance date that is 

specified for each boiler or process heater in 40 C.F.R. §63.7495 and ending on June 30 or December 31, 

whichever date is the first date that occurs at least 180 days after the compliance date that is specified for your 

source in 40 C.F.R. §63.7495. If submitting an annual, biennial, or 5-year compliance report, the first compliance 

report must cover the period beginning on the compliance date that is specified for each boiler or process heater 

in §63.7495 and ending on December 31 within 1, 2, or 5 years, as applicable, after the compliance date that is 

specified for your source in40 C.F.R. §63.7495. 

(2) The first semi-annual compliance report must be postmarked or submitted no later than July 31 or January 

31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the first calendar half after the compliance date that is 

specified for each boiler or process heater in §63.7495. The first annual, biennial, or 5-year compliance report 

must be postmarked or submitted no later than January 31. 

(3) Each subsequent semi-annual compliance report must cover the semiannual reporting period from January 

1 through June 30 or the semiannual reporting period from July 1 through December 31. Annual, biennial, and 

5-year compliance reports must cover the applicable 1-, 2-, or 5-year periods from January 1 to December 31. 
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(4) Each subsequent semi-annual compliance report must be postmarked or submitted no later than July 31 or 

January 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the semiannual reporting period. Annual, 

biennial, and 5-year compliance reports must be postmarked or submitted no later than January 31. 

(5) For each affected source that is subject to permitting regulations pursuant to part 70 or part 71 of this chapter, 

and if the permitting authority has established dates for submitting semiannual reports pursuant to 

70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A), you may submit the first and subsequent compliance reports according 

to the dates the permitting authority has established in the permit instead of according to the dates in paragraphs 

(b)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(c) A compliance report must contain the following information depending on how the facility chooses to comply with 

the limits set in this rule. 

(1) If the facility is subject to the requirements of a tune up you must submit a compliance report with the 

information in paragraphs (c)(5)(i) through (iii) of this section, (xiv) and (xvii) of this section, and paragraph 

(c)(5)(iv) of this section for limited-use boiler or process heater. 

(5)  (i) Company and Facility name and address. 

(ii) Process unit information, emissions limitations, and operating parameter limitations. 

(iii) Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the reporting period. 

 (xiv) Include the date of the most recent tune-up for each unit subject to only the requirement to 

conduct an annual, biennial, or 5-year tune-up according to 40 C.F.R. §63.7540(a)(10), (11), or (12) 

respectively. Include the date of the most recent burner inspection if it was not done annually, 

biennially, or on a 5-year period and was delayed until the next scheduled or unscheduled unit 

shutdown. 

 (xvii) Statement by a responsible official with that official's name, title, and signature, certifying 

the truth, accuracy, and completeness of the content of the report. 

 (h)(3) You must submit all reports required by Table 9 of this subpart electronically to the EPA via the CEDRI. 

(CEDRI can be accessed through the EPA's CDX.) You must use the appropriate electronic report in CEDRI for this 

subpart. Instead of using the electronic report in CEDRI for this subpart, you may submit an alternate electronic file 

consistent with the XML schema listed on the CEDRI Web site (http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/cedri/index.html), once 

the XML schema is available. If the reporting form specific to this subpart is not available in CEDRI at the time that 

the report is due, you must submit the report to the Administrator at the appropriate address listed in40 C.F.R.  §63.13. 

You must begin submitting reports via CEDRI no later than 90 days after the form becomes available in CEDRI. 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.7550(a), (b)(1), (c)(1), (c)(5)(i) through (iii), (xiv), (xvii), (h)(3) and Table 9; 45CSR14, 

R14-0013, 4.5.2] 

 

9.6.      Compliance Plan 

 
9.6.1.     N/A
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10.0     40 C.F.R. 63 Subpart YYYY Requirements for Turbines [emission point IDs: T01, T02, T03,  T04] 
 

10.1. Limitations and Standards 

 

10.1.1. § 63.6100 What emission and operating limitations must I meet? 

 

 For each new or reconstructed stationary combustion turbine which is a lean premix gas-fired stationary 

combustion turbine, a lean premix oil-fired stationary combustion turbine, a diffusion flame gas-fired 

stationary combustion turbine, or a diffusion flame oil-fired stationary combustion turbine as defined by this 

subpart, you must comply with the emission limitations and operating limitations in Table 1 and Table 2 of 

this subpart. 

 

 As stated in §63.6100, you must comply with the following emission limitations. 

 

 Table 1 

For each new or reconstructed stationary 

combustion turbine described in §63.6100 

which is . . . 

You must meet the following emission limitations 

. . .. 

1. a lean premix gas-fired stationary 

combustion turbine as defined in this subpart 

limit the concentration of formaldehyde to 91 ppbvd 

or less at 15-percent O2, except during turbine 

startup. The period of time for turbine startup is 

subject to the limits specified in the definition of 

startup in §63.6175. 

 

As stated in §§63.6100 and 63.6140, you must comply with the following operating limitations. 

 

Table 2 

For… You must… 

2.  each stationary combustion turbine that 

is required to comply with the emission 

limitation for formaldehyde and is not using 

an oxidation catalyst 

maintain any operating limitations approved by the 

Administrator. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6100, Table 1, line 1 and Table 2, line 2] 

 

10.1.2. §63.6105 What are my general requirements for complying with this subpart? 

 

(a)  You must be in compliance with the emission limitations, operating limitations, and other requirements 

in this subpart which apply to you at all times.  

 

(a) At all times, the owner or operator must operate and maintain any affected source, including associated 

air pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a manner consistent with safety and good 

air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. The general duty to minimize emissions does 

not require the owner or operator to make any further efforts to reduce emissions if levels required by 

the applicable standard have been achieved. Determination of whether a source is operating in 

compliance with operation and maintenance requirements will be based on information available to the 

Administrator which may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, review of operation and 

maintenance procedures, review of operation and maintenance records, and inspection of the source. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6105(a) & (c)] 
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10.1.3.  §63.6130 How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission and operating limitations? 
 

(a)  You must demonstrate initial compliance with each emission and operating limitation that applies to you 
according to Table 4 of this subpart.  

 
 As stated in §§63.6110 and 63.6130, you must comply with the following requirements to demonstrate 

initial compliance with emission limitations. 
 

 Table 4 

For the… You have demonstrated initial compliance if… 

emission limitation for formaldehyde. the average formaldehyde concentration meets the 
emission limitations specified in Table 1. 

 

[45CSR34, 40CFR§63.6130(a) and Table 4] 

 

10.1.4. §63.6140 How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission and operating limitations? 

 

(a) You must demonstrate continuous compliance with each emission limitation and operating limitation 

in Table 1 and Table 2 of this subpart according to methods specified in Table 5 of this subpart. 

  

As stated in §§63.6135 and 63.6140, you must comply with the following requirements to demonstrate 

continuing compliance with operating limitations: 

 

Table 5 

For each stationary combustion turbine 

complying with the emission limitation for 

formaldehyde… 

You must demonstrate continuous compliance 

by… 

2.  without the use of an oxidation catalyst continuously monitoring the operating 

limitations that have been approved in your 

petition to the Administrator. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6140(a) and Table 5, line 2] 

 

10.2. Monitoring Requirements 

 

10.2.1. §63.6125 What are my monitor installation, operation, and maintenance requirements? 

 

 (b)  If you are operating a stationary combustion turbine that is required to comply with the formaldehyde 

emission limitation and you are not using an oxidation catalyst, you must continuously monitor any 

parameters specified in your approved petition to the Administrator, in order to comply with the 

operating limitations in Table 2 and as specified in Table 5 of this subpart.  

 

 (e)  If you are required to use a continuous monitoring system (CMS), you must develop and implement a 

CMS quality control program that included written procedures for CMS according to §63.8(d)(1) 

through (2). You must keep these written procedures on record for the life of the affected source or until 

the affected source is no longer subject to the provisions of this part, to be made available for inspection, 

upon request, by the Administrator. If the performance evaluation plan is revised, the owner or operator 

shall keep previous (i.e., superseded) versions of the performance evaluation plan on record to be made 

available for inspection, upon request, by the Administrator, for a period of 5 years after each revision 

to the plan. The program of corrective action should be included in the plan required under §63.8(d)(2).  

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §̊§63.6125(b)&(e)] 
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10.2.2. §63.6135 How do I monitor and collect data to demonstrate continuous compliance?   

 
(a)  Except for monitor malfunctions, associated repairs, and required quality assurance or quality control 

activities (including, as applicable, calibration checks and required zero and span adjustments of the 
monitoring system), you must conduct all parametric monitoring at all times the stationary combustion 
turbine is operating.  

 
(b) Do not use data recorded during monitor malfunctions, associated repairs, and required quality assurance 

or quality control activities for meeting the requirements of this subpart, including data averages and 
calculations. You must use all the data collected during all other periods in assessing the performance of 
the control device or in assessing emissions from the new or reconstructed stationary combustion turbine.  

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6135(a) & (b)] 

 

10.3. Testing Requirements 

 

10.3.1. §63.6110 By what date must I conduct the initial performance tests or other initial compliance 

demonstrations? 

  

You must conduct the initial performance tests or other initial compliance demonstrations in Table 4 of this 

subpart that apply to you within 180 calendar days after the compliance date that is specified for your 

stationary combustion turbine in §63.6095 (March 9, 2022) and according to the provisions in §63.7(a)(2). 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6110(a)] 

 

10.3.2. §63.6115 When must I conduct subsequent performance tests? 

 

 Subsequent performance tests must be performed on an annual basis as specified in Table 3 of this subpart. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6115] 

 

10.3.3. §63.6120 What performance tests and other procedures must I use? 

(a) You must conduct each performance test in Table 3 of this subpart that applies to you. 

(b) Each performance test must be conducted according to the requirements in Table 3 of this subpart. 

(c) Performance tests must be conducted at high load, defined as 100 percent plus or minus 10 percent.  

Performance tests shall be conducted under such conditions based on representative performance of the 

affected source for the period being tested.  Representative conditions exclude periods of startup and 

shutdown.  The owner or operator may not conduct performance tests during periods of malfunction.  

The owner or operator must record the process information that is necessary to document operating 

conditions during the test and include in such record an explanation to support that such conditions 

represent normal operation.  Upon request, the owner or operator shall make available to the 

Administrator such records as may be necessary to determine the conditions of performance tests. 

(d) You must conduct three separate test runs for each performance test, and each test run must last at least 

1 hour. 

(e) If your stationary combustion turbine is not equipped with an oxidation catalyst, you must petition the 

Administrator for operating limitations that you will monitor to demonstrate compliance with the 

formaldehyde emission limitation in Table 1. You must measure these operating parameters during the 

initial performance test and continuously monitor thereafter. Alternatively, you may petition the 

Administrator for approval of no additional operating limitations. If you submit a petition under this 
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section, you must not conduct the initial performance test until after the petition has been approved or 

disapproved by the Administrator.  

(f)  If your stationary combustion turbine is not equipped with an oxidation catalyst and you petition the 

Administrator for approval of additional operating limitations to demonstrate compliance with the 

formaldehyde emission limitation in Table 1, your petition must include the following information 

described in paragraphs (f)(1) through (5) of this section.  

(1)   Identification of the specific parameters you propose to use as additional operating limitations;  

(2)  A discussion of the relationship between these parameters and HAP emissions, identifying how  

HAP emissions change with changes in these parameters and how limitations on these parameters 

will serve to limit HAP emissions;  

(3) A discussion of how you will establish the upper and/or lower values for these parameters which   

will establish the limits on these parameters in the operating limitations;  

(4)  A discussion identifying the methods you will use to measure and the instruments you will use to 

monitor these parameters, as well as the relative accuracy and precision of these methods and 

instruments; and  

(5)  A discussion identifying the frequency and methods for recalibrating the instruments you will use 

for monitoring these parameters. 

(g) If you petition the Adminis trator for approval of no additional operating limitations , your 

petition mus t include the information des cribed in paragraphs  (g)(1) through (7) of this  

s ection. 

(1) Identification of the parameters  as s ociated with operation of the s tationary combus tion 

turbine and any emis s ion control device which could change intentionally (e.g., operator 

adjus tment, automatic controller adjus tment, etc.) or unintentionally (e.g., wear and tear, 

error, etc.) on a routine bas is  or over time; 

(2) A dis cus s ion of the relations hip, if any, between changes  in the parameters  and changes  

in HAP emis s ions ; 

(3) For the parameters  which could change in such a way as  to increas e HAP emis s ions , a  

dis cus s ion of why es tablis hing limitations  on the parameters  is  not pos s ible; 

(4) For the parameters  which could change in such a way as  to increas e HAP emis s ions , a  

dis cus s ion of why you could not es tablish upper and/ or lower values  for the parameters  

which would es tablis h limits  on the parameters  as  operating limitations ; 

(5) For the parameters  which could change in such a way as  to increas e HAP emis s ions , a 

dis cus s ion identifying the methods  you could use to measure them and the ins truments  

you could us e to monitor them, as  well as  the relative accuracy and precis ion of the 

methods  and ins truments ; 

(6) For the parameters , a  dis cus s ion identifying the frequency and methods  for recalibrating 

the ins truments  you could us e to monitor them; and 

(7) A dis cus s ion of why, from your point of view, it is  infeas ible, unreas onable or unneces s ary 

to adopt the parameters  as  operating limitations . 

 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/section-63.6120#p-63.6120(f)(1)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/section-63.6120#p-63.6120(f)(5)
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As stated in §63.6120, you must comply with the following requirements for performance tests and initial 

compliance demonstrations. 

Table 3 

You must… Using… According to the following 

requirements… 

a. demonstrate formaldehyde 

emissions meet the emission 

limitations specified in Table 1 by a 

performance test initially and on an 

annual basis AND 

Test Method 320 of 40 CFR 

part 63, appendix A; ASTM 

D6348-12e11 provided that 

the test plan preparation and 

implementation provisions of 

Annexes A1 through A8 are 

followed and the %R as 

determined in Annex A5 is 

equal or greater than 70% and 

less than or equal to 130%;2 

or other methods approved by 

the Administrator 

formaldehyde concentration 

must be corrected to 15-

percent O2, dry basis. Results 

of this test consist of the 

average of the three 1-hour 

runs. Test must be conducted 

within 10 percent of 100-

percent load. 

b. select the sampling port location and 

the number of traverse points AND 

Method 1 or 1A of 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A 

if using an air pollution 

control device, the sampling 

site must be located at the 

outlet of the air pollution 

control device. 

c. determine the O2 concentration at 

the sampling port location AND 

Method 3A or 3B of 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A; ANSI/ 

ASME PTC 19.10-19811 

(Part 10) manual portion 

only; ASTM D6522-111 if the 

turbine is fueled by natural 

gas 

measurements to determine 

O2 concentration must be 

made at the same time as the 

performance test. 

d. determine the moisture content at 

the sampling port location for the 

purposes of correcting the 

formaldehyde concentration to a dry  

basis 

Method 4 of 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A or Test Method 

320 of 40 CFR part 63, 

appendix A, or ASTM 

D6348-12e11 

measurements to determine 

moisture content must be 

made at the same time as the 

performance test. 

1 Incorporated by reference, see §63.14. 

2  The %R value for each compound must be reported in the test report, and all field measurements must be 

corrected with the calculated %R value for that compound using the following equation: 

Reported Results = ((Measured Concentration in Stack)/(%R)) x 100. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6120 and Table 3] 
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10.4. Recordkeeping Requirements 

 

10.4.1. §63.6155 What records must I keep? 

 

(a) You must keep the records as described in §63.6155(a)(1) through (7). 

 

(1) A copy of each notification and report that you submitted to comply with this subpart, including all 

documentation supporting any Initial Notification or Notification of Compliance Status that you 

submitted, according to the requirements in §63.10(b)(2)(xiv). 

 

(2) Records of performance tests and performance evaluations as required in §63.10(b)(2)(viii). 

 

(5) Records of all maintenance on the air pollution control equipment as required in §63.10(b)(2)(iii). 

 

(6) Records of the date, time, and duration of each startup period, recording the periods when the 

affected source was subject to the standard applicable to startup. 

 

(7) Keep records as follows. 

 

(i) Record the number of deviations. For each deviation, record the date, time, cause, and duration 

of the deviation. 

 

(ii) For each deviation, record and retain a list of the affected sources or equipment, an estimate of 

the quantity of each regulated pollutant emitted over any emission limit and a description of the 

method used to estimate the emissions. 

 

(iii) Record actions taken to minimize emissions in accordance with §63.6105(c), and any corrective 

actions taken to return the affected unit to its normal or usual manner of operation. 

 

(c)  You must keep the records required in Table 5 of this subpart to show continuous compliance with each 

operating limitation that applies to you. 

 

(d) Any records required to be maintained by this part that are submitted electronically via the EPA's CEDRI 

may be maintained in electronic format. This ability to maintain electronic copies does not affect the 

requirement for facilities to make records, data, and reports available upon request to a delegated air 

agency or the EPA as part of an on-site compliance evaluation. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6155(a)(1) through (2), (a)(5) through (7), (c), (d)] 

 

10.4.2. §63.6160 In what form and how long must I keep my records? 

 

(a) You must maintain all applicable records in such a manner that they can be readily accessed and are 

suitable for inspection according to §63.10(b)(1). 

 

(b) As specified in §63.10(b)(1), you must keep each record for 5 years following the date of each 

occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report, or record. 
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(c) You must retain your records of the most recent 2 years on site or your records must be accessible on 

site. Your records of the remaining 3 years may be retained off site. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6160] 

 

10.5. Reporting Requirements 

 
10.5.1  §63.6130 How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission and operating limitations? 
 

(b)  You must submit the Notification of Compliance Status containing results of the initial compliance 
demonstration according to the requirements in §63.6145(f). 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6130 (b)] 

 

10.5.2. §63.6140 How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission and operating limitations? 

 

(b) You must report each instance in which you did not meet each emission imitation or operating 

limitation. You must also report each instance in which you did not meet the requirements in Table 7 

of this subpart that apply to you. These instances are deviations from the emission and operating 

limitations in this subpart. These deviations must be reported according to the requirements in 

§63.6150. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6140 (b)] 

 

10.5.3. § 63.6145 What notifications must I submit and when? 

 

(a) You must submit all of the notifications in §§63.7(b) and (c), 63.8(e), 63.8(f)(4), and 63.9(b) and (h) that 

apply to you by the dates specified.  

 

(c)  As specified in §63.9(b), if you start up your new or reconstructed stationary combustion turbine on or 

after March 5, 2004, you must submit an Initial Notification not later than 120 calendar days after you 

become subject to this subpart.  

 

(e)  If you are required to conduct an initial performance test, you must submit a notification of intent to 

conduct an initial performance test at least 60 calendar days before the initial performance test is 

scheduled to begin as required in §63.7(b)(1).  

 

(f)  If you are required to comply with the emission limitation for formaldehyde, you must submit a 

Notification of Compliance Status according to §63.9(h)(2)(ii). For each performance test required to 

demonstrate compliance with the emission limitation for formaldehyde, you must submit the Notification 

of Compliance Status, including the performance test results, before the close of business on the 60th 

calendar day following the completion of the performance test. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §63.6145(a), (c), (e) and (f)] 

 

10.5.4 §63.6150 What reports must I submit and when? 

 

(a) Compliance report.  Anyone who owns or operates a stationary combustion turbine which must meet 

the emissions limitation for formaldehyde must submit a semiannual compliance report according to 

Table 6 of this subpart.  The semiannual compliance report must contain the information described in 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/section-63.6150
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§63.6150(a)(1) through (5). The semiannual compliance report, including the excess emissions and 

monitoring system performance reports of §63.10(e)(3), must be submitted by the dates specified in 

§63.6150(b)(1) through (5), unless the Administrator has approved a different schedule.  After 

September 8, 2020, or once the reporting template has been available on the Compliance and Emissions 

Data Reporting Interface (CEDRI) website for 180 days, whichever date is later, you must submit all 

subsequent reports to the EPA following the procedure specified in §63.6150(g). 

 

(1) Company name and address. 

(2) Statement by a responsible official, with that official’s name, title, and signature, certifying the 

accuracy of the content of the report. 

(3) Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the reporting period. 

(5) Report each deviation in the semiannual compliance report.  Report the following information: 

 (i) Report the number of deviations.  For each instance, report the start date, start time, duration, 

and cause of each deviation, and the corrective action taken. 

 (ii) For each deviation, the report must include a list of the affected sources or equipment, an 

estimate of the quantity of each regulated pollutant emitted over any emission limit, a 

description of the method used to estimate the emissions. 

 (iii) Information on the number, duration, and cause for monitor downtime incidents (including 

unknown cause, if applicable, other than downtime associated with zero and span and other 

daily calibration checks), as applicable, and the corrective action taken. 

 (iv) Report the total operating time of the affected source during the reporting period. 

 

(b) Dates of submittal for the semiannual compliance report are provided in §63.6150(b)(1) through (5). 

 

 (5) For each stationary combustion turbine that is subject to permitting regulations pursuant to 40 CFR 

part 70 or 71, and if the permitting authority has established the date for submitting annual reports 

pursuant to 40 C.F.R. §70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 C.F.R. §71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A), you may submit the first 

and subsequent compliance reports according to the dates the permitting authority has established 

instead of according to the dates in §63.6150(b)(1) through (4). 

 

 (d) Dates of submittal for the annual report are provided in §63.6150(d)(1) through (5). 

 

(5) For each stationary combustion turbine that is subject to permitting regulations pursuant to 40 C.F.R. 

part 70 or 71, and if the permitting authority has established the date for submitting annual reports 

pursuant to 40 C.F.R. §70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 C.F.R. §71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A), you may submit the first 

and subsequent compliance reports according to the dates the permitting authority has established 

instead of according to the dates in §63.6150(d)(1) through (4). 

 
(f) Performance test report. Within 60 days after the date of completing each performance test required by 

this subpart, you must submit the results of the performance test (as specified in §63.6145(f)) following 

the procedures specified in paragraphs (f)(1) through (3) of this section. 

 

(1) Data collected using test methods supported by the EPA's Electronic Reporting Tool (ERT) as listed 

on the EPA's ERT website (https://www.epa.gov/electronic-reporting-air-emissions/electronic-

reporting- tool-ert) at the time of the test. Submit the results of the performance test to the EPA via 

the CEDRI, which can be accessed through the EPA's Central Data Exchange (CDX) 

(https://cdx.epa.gov/). The data must be submitted in a file format generated through the use of the 

EPA's ERT. Alternatively, you may submit an electronic file consistent with the extensible markup 

language (XML) schema listed on the EPA's ERT website. 

 

(2) Data collected using test methods that are not supported by the EPA's ERT as listed on the EPA's 

ERT website at the time of the test. The results of the performance test must be included as an  
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attachment in the ERT or an alternate electronic file consistent with the XML schema listed on the 

EPA's ERT website. Submit the ERT generated package or alternative file to the EPA via CEDRI. 

 

(3) Confidential business information (CBI). If you claim some of the information submitted under 

paragraph (f)(1) of this section is CBI, you must submit a complete file, including information 

claimed to be CBI, to the EPA. The file must be generated through the use of the EPA's ERT or an 

alternate electronic file consistent with the XML schema listed on the EPA's ERT website. Submit 

the file on a compact disc, flash drive, or other commonly used electronic storage medium and 

clearly mark the medium as CBI. Mail the electronic medium to U.S. EPA/OAQPS/CORE CBI 

Office, Attention: Group Leader, Measurement Policy Group, MD C404-02, 4930 Old Page Rd., 

Durham, NC 27703. The same file with the CBI omitted must be submitted to the EPA via the EPA's 

CDX as described in paragraph (f)(1) of this section. 

 

(g) If you are required to submit reports following the procedure specified in this paragraph, you must submit 

reports to the EPA via CEDRI, which can be accessed through the EPA's CDX (https://cdx.epa.gov/). 

You must use the appropriate electronic report template on the CEDRI website (https://www.epa.gov/ 

electronic-reporting-air-emissions/compliance-and-emissions-data-reporting-interface-cedri) for this 

subpart. The date report templates become available will be listed on the CEDRI website. The report 

must be submitted by the deadline specified in this subpart, regardless of the method in which the report 

is submitted. If you claim some of the information required to be submitted via CEDRI is CBI, submit a 

complete report, including information claimed to be CBI, to the EPA. The report must be generated 

using the appropriate form on the CEDRI website. Submit the file on a compact disc, flash drive, or other 

commonly used electronic storage medium and clearly mark the medium as CBI. Mail the electronic 

medium to U.S. EPA/OAQPS/CORE CBI Office, Attention: Group Leader, Measurement Policy Group, 

MD C404-02, 4930 Old Page Rd., Durham, NC 27703. The same file with the CBI omitted must be 

submitted to the EPA via the EPA's CDX as described earlier in this paragraph. 

 

(h)  If you are required to electronically submit a report through CEDRI in the EPA's CDX, you may assert 

a claim of EPA system outage for failure to timely comply with the reporting requirement. To assert a 

claim of EPA system outage, you must meet the requirements outlined in paragraphs (h)(1) through (7) 

of this section. 

 

(1) You must have been or will be precluded from accessing CEDRI and submitting a required report 

within the time prescribed due to an outage of either the EPA's CEDRI or CDX systems. 

 

(2)  The outage must have occurred within the period of time beginning five business days prior to the 

date that the submission is due. 

 

(3) The outage may be planned or unplanned. 

 
(4) You must submit notification to the Administrator in writing as soon as possible following the date 

you first knew, or through due diligence should have known, that the event may cause or has caused 

a delay in reporting. 

 

(5) You must provide to the Administrator a written description identifying: 

(i) The date(s) and time(s) when CDX or CEDRI was accessed and the system was unavailable; 

(ii) A rationale for attributing the delay in reporting beyond the regulatory deadline to EPA system 

outage; 

(iii) Measures taken or to be taken to minimize the delay in reporting; and 

(iv) The date by which you propose to report, or if you have already met the reporting requirement 

at the time of the notification, the date you reported. 

 

(6) The decision to accept the claim of EPA system outage and allow an extension to the reporting 

deadline is solely within the discretion of the Administrator. 
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(7) In any circumstance, the report must be submitted electronically as soon as possible after the 

outage is resolved. 

 

(i) If you are required to electronically submit a report through CEDRI in the EPA's CDX, you may assert 

a claim of force majeure for failure to timely comply with the reporting requirement. To assert a claim 

of force majeure, you must meet the requirements outlined in paragraphs (i)(1) through (5) of this 

section. 

 

(1) You may submit a claim if a force majeure event is about to occur, occurs, or has occurred or there 

are lingering effects from such an event within the period of time beginning five business days 

prior to the date the submission is due. For the purposes of this section, a force majeure event is 

defined as an event that will be or has been caused by circumstances beyond the control of the 

affected facility, its contractors, or any entity controlled by the affected facility that prevents you 

from complying with the requirement to submit a report electronically within the time period 

prescribed. Examples of such events are acts of nature (e.g., hurricanes, earthquakes, or floods), 

acts of war or terrorism, or equipment failure or safety hazard beyond the control of the affected 

facility (e.g., large scale power outage). 

 

(2) You must submit notification to the Administrator in writing as soon as possible following the date 

you first knew, or through due diligence should have known, that the event may cause or has caused 

a delay in reporting 

 

(3) You must provide to the Administrator: 

(i) A written description of the force majeure event; 

(ii) A rationale for attributing the delay in reporting beyond the regulatory deadline to the force 

majeure event; 

(iii) Measures taken or to be taken to minimize the delay in reporting; and 

(iv) The date by which you propose to report, or if you have already met the reporting requirement 

at the time of the notification, the date you reported. 

 

(4) The decision to accept the claim of force majeure and allow an extension to the reporting deadline 

is solely within the discretion of the Administrator. 

 

(5) In any circumstance, the reporting must occur as soon as possible after the force majeure event 

 occurs. 

 

[45CSR34, 40 C.F.R. §§63.6150(a)(1) through (3), (a)(5), (b)(5), (d)(5), (f) through (i)] 

 

10.6. Compliance Plan 

 

10.6.1. N/A 

 

 

 


